cypress trees in water


The Cypress Group of the North Carolina Chapter includes 19 counties in Eastern and Northeastern Coastal North Carolina, making it the largest Group in the State geographically.  The counties of the Cypress Group are:  Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Lenoir, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, and Wayne.


The North Carolina Chapter of the Sierra Club was organized in 1970, and the Cypress Group was formed in 1974.  As a first mission, the Cypress Group challenged the Army Corps of Engineers' project to change and straighten stream channels, in particular Chicod Creek, without meeting a new statutory requirement to file an environmental impact statement.  Cypress Group's efforts led to a national Channelization Act.


The Sierra Club was founded by legendary conservationist John Muir in 1892, and is the nation's largest and most influential grassroots environmental organization.  Our successes range from protecting millions of acres of wilderness, to helping pass the Clean Air Act, the Clean Water Act, and the Endangered Species Act.  Currently, we're leading the charge to move beyond fossil fuels toward a clean energy alternative.

Explore, Enjoy, and Protect the Planet ... Join the Sierra Club TODAY!