

IOWA CHAPTER

<u>It Isn't OK</u> for the Electric Company to Charge Me More If I Have Solar Panels!

Iowa municipal utilities can charge you more for electricity if you have installed solar panels than your neighbors who do not have solar panels.

You might say, "There ought to be a law about this." There is indeed a law and the law says it is OK.

However, we say <u>this isn't OK</u>. Furthermore, <u>it's</u> <u>discriminatory</u>.

In May 2018, Iowa's governor signed a law (SF2311) that removed municipal utilities from requirements that prohibited the utility company from discriminating against customers who own solar panels. The text of that change is:



Photo by Bill Eager, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

476.21 Discrimination prohibited.

A municipality, corporation or cooperative association providing electrical or gas service shall not consider the use of renewable energy sources by a customer as a basis for establishing discriminatory rates or charges for any service or commodity sold to the customer or discontinue services or subject the customer to any other prejudice or disadvantage based on the customer's use or intended use of renewable energy sources. As used in this section, "renewable energy sources" includes but is not limited to solar heating, wind power and the conversion of urban and agricultural organic wastes into methane gas and liquid fuels.

What's more, customers of investor-owned utilities (Alliant and MidAmerican) and customers of rural electric cooperatives are not subject to this discrimination. The customers of these utilities are not charged more for their electricity if the customers have solar panels.

It is not OK to discriminate against solar panel owners by charging them more for their electricity.

It should not matter who provides your electricity or who your utility company is or who owns the company. When it comes to installing solar panels on your home or business, you should be charged the same for the electricity you use as the family or business that does not have solar panels. You cannot choose who your power company is. Discrimination should be illegal. The legislature needs to protect your rights to own solar panels and not be discriminated against.

What can you do?

1. Contact your state legislators and let them know that it is unacceptable to allow municipal utilities to charge solar panel owners more for the electricity that they use than someone who does not have solar panels and tell them to return municipal utilities to Section 476.21 of the Iowa code.

To find your state senator's contact information, see www.legis.iowa.gov/legislators/senate

To find your state representative's contact information, see www.legis.iowa.gov/legislators/house

To find your legislator, see www.legis.iowa.gov/legislators/find

- 2. Be sure to include the governor in your messages. Send a letter to the governor at 1007 E. Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319. To electronically send a letter to the governor, you must use the governor's website https://governor.iowa.gov/constituent-services/register-an-opinion
- 3. If you receive your power from a municipal utility, tell the municipal board members that you do not want them to enact policies that charge a customer with solar panels more for the electricity they buy than they charge a customer without solar panels. Each municipal utility has a board of directors that is appointed by the mayor and city council. Check with your municipal utility to see who sits on the board.
- 4. While you are contacting your municipal utility board members, also tell your mayor and council that you do not want owners of solar panels to be discriminated against by your municipal utility.



Iowa Municipal Utilities

Afton Municipal Akron Municipal Algona Municipal Alta Municipal Alta Vista Municipal Alton Municipal Ames Municipal Anita Municipal Anthon Municipal Aplington Municipal Atlantic Municipal Auburn Municipal Aurelia Municipal Bancroft Municipal Bellevue Municipal Bigelow, MN Municipal Bloomfield Municipal Breda Municipal Brooklyn Municipal Buffalo Municipal **Burt Municipal** Callender Municipal Carlisle Municipal Cascade Municipal Cedar Falls Municipal Coggon Municipal Coon Rapids Municipal Corning Municipal Corwith Municipal Danville Municipal Dayton Municipal

Durant Municipal Dysart Municipal Earlville Municipal Eldridge Municipal Ellsworth Municipal

Denison Municipal

Denver Municipal

Dike Municipal

Estherville Municipal Fairbank Municipal Farnhamville Municipal Fonda Municipal Fontanelle Municipal Forest City Municipal Fredericksburg Municipal Glidden Municipal Gowrie Municipal Graettinger Municipal Grafton Municipal Grand Junction Municipal Greenfield Municipal

Grundy Center Municipal Guttenberg Municipal Harlan Municipal Hartley Municipal Hawarden Municipal Hinton Municipal Hopkinton Municipal **Hudson Municipal** Independence Municipal Indianola Municipal Keosauqua Municipal Kimballton Municipal La Porte City Municipal Lake Mills Municipal Lake Park Municipal Lake View Municipal Lamoni Municipal Larchwood Municipal Laurens Municipal Lawler Municipal Lehigh Municipal Lenox Municipal Livermore Municipal Long Grove Municipal Manilla Municipal Manning Municipal Mapleton Municipal Maquoketa Municipal Marathon Municipal McGregor Municipal Milford Municipal Montezuma Municipal Mount Pleasant Municipal

Neola Municipal New Hampton Municipal New London Municipal Ogden Municipal

Muscatine Municipal

Omaha Public Power District, NE

Onawa Municipal Orange City Municipal Orient Municipal Osage Municipal Panora Municipal Paton Municipal Paullina Municipal Pella Municipal Pocahontas Municipal Preston Municipal Primghar Municipal Readlyn Municipal Remsen Municipal

Renwick Municipal Rock Rapids Municipal Rockford Municipal Sabula Municipal Sanborn Municipal Sergeant Bluff Municipal

Shelby Municipal Sibley Municipal Sioux Center Municipal Spencer Municipal Stanhope Municipal Stanton Municipal State Center Municipal Story City Municipal Stratford Municipal

Strawberry Point Municipal

Stuart Municipal Sumner Municipal Tipton Municipal Traer Municipal Villisca Municipal Vinton Municipal Wall Lake Municipal Waverly Municipal Webster City Municipal West Bend Municipal West Liberty Municipal West Point Municipal Westfield Municipal Whittemore Municipal Wilton Municipal Winterset Municipal Woodbine Municipal Woolstock Municipal