## Sierra Club California Executive and Administrative Committees

rev 8/21/2022

#### SCCa Bylaws Part Four: Standing Committees

2.19 Standing committees and special committees may be established by the California Executive Committee in the exercise of its powers and responsibilities under these bylaws. Unless otherwise provided by the California Executive Committee, the members of these committees shall be appointed by the Sierra Club California Chair. They shall be appointed from among Sierra Club members who live in California, and they shall serve for one-year terms unless they are sooner discharged by the appointing person or entity or unless the Standing Rules provide for other terms. The committee chair shall be designated by the appointing person or entity at the time the committee is appointed. Except for the Nominating Committee (where it may only fill naturally occurring vacancies), the California Executive Committee may at any time add members to a committee, recall, or replace any of its members. Committees not mandated by these bylaws may be discharged by the California Executive Committee at any time.

2.20 The chairperson of each committee established by the California Executive Committee shall regularly report to and consult with the Sierra Club California Chair and the California Executive Committee. Each committee shall submit an annual report to the California Executive Committee

### California Executive Committee & Election Dates:

Chair: Mary Ann Ruiz, San Gorgonio (2022-23)

Co-Vice Chairs: Marlene Esquivel, Angeles (2019-22), and

Katie Davis, Los Padres (2021-22)

Secretary: Karen Maki, Loma Prieta (2020-23)

Backup Secretary: Ruben Arizmendi, San Diego (2019-22) Treasurer: Bruce Rienzo, Loma Prieta (Non-voting member)

Mbr. Charlotte Allen, Mother Lode (2018-23) Mbr: Arthur Feinstein, SF Bay (2017-22) Mbr: Abigail Smith, San Diego (2021-22) Mbr: Igor Tregub, SF Bay (2020-23)

Mbr: Wendy-Sue Rosen, Angeles (2022-23)

Mbr: Chris Gilbert, SF Bay, CCC Liaison (2022-23)

# 2. Membership of California Legislative Committee

The CLC shall consist of a Chair and up to 11 additional members. The Chair and members shall be nominated by the Sierra Club California Chair after consultation with the California Conservation Chair, and they shall take office on confirmation by the California Executive Committee. They shall serve for two-year terms commencing on January 1 of odd-numbered years. As provided by section 2.19 of the Sierra Club California bylaws, they may be recalled or replaced by the California Executive Committee at any time.

California Legislative Committee: Patricia Jones (Chair), Ruben Arizmendi, Steve Birdlebough, Kevin Bundy, Marlene Esquivel, Nancy Flores, Andy Katz, Eric Parfrey, Al Sattler, Ron Stork, Travis Ritchie, Matt Williams, Chris Gilbert.

California Political Committee: Victoria Brandon and Sharon Koch (Co-Chairs), Howard Strauss, (Angeles) (Vice Chair) Peter Andersen (San Diego), Olga Bolotina (SF Bay), Sandra Cattell (Angeles), Derek Cressman, (Mother Lode), Chance Cutrano (SF Bay), Mike Ferreira (Loma Prieta), Rue Furch (Redwood), David Gold (Los Padres), Dave Grubb (San Diego), Joan Jones Holtz (Angeles), Bhavin Jindal (San Gorgonio), , Gary Lasky (Tehipite), Richard Miller (San Diego), Alex Mintzer (Santa Lucia), John Monsen (Angeles), Pat Piras (SF Bay), Susana Reyes (Angeles), Andy Sawyer (Mother Lode), Barb Williams (Mother Lode)

#### **Candidate Review Committees:**

NORTH: Andy Sawyer (Chair), Pat Piras, Chance Cutrano, Victoria Brandon (alt), Bob Morgan (alt)

SOUTH: Howard Strauss (Chair), Joan Jones Holtz, David Gold, Peter Andersen (alt), Mark Rush (alt)

**Local Ballot Measure Review Committee:** Steve Birdlebough (Redwood chapter, Chair), Patricia Piras (SF Bay chapter), Michael Ferreira (Loma Prieta chapter), John Rizzo (SF Bay chapter), Mike Savino (Mother Lode chapter), Marlene Esquivel (Angeles chapter), Eric Parfrey (Mother Lode chapter)

Legal Committee: Tara Mueller (Chair), Alan Carlton, Andy Sawyer, Ruben Arizmendi, Nancy Flores, Abigail Smith

Nominating Committee: Eric Parfrey (Chair), Charlotte Allen, Igor Tregub, Mary Ann Ruiz

Elections Committee: Charlotte Allen, Abigail Smith (Co-chairs), Wendy-Sue Rosen

Personnel Committee: Andy Sawyer (Chair/PolCom), Eric Parfrey (CLC), Kathy Dervin (CCC), Mary Ann Ruiz

(SCC ExCom)

Awards Committee: Howard Strauss (Chair), Barb Williams, Mary Ann Ruiz, Marlene Esquivel

Fundraising Committee: Matt Williams (Chair), Karen Maki, Igor Tregub, Bob Schneider, Katie Davis

**Summit Task Force:** Marlene Esquivel, Igor Tregub, Katie Davis, Steve Birdlebough, Eric Parfrey, Karen Maki, Wendy-Sue Rosen, Ruben Arizmendi, Mary Ann Ruiz and staff consultants Brandon Dawson, Michael Blenner

**By Laws/Charter Update Task Force:** Charlotte Allen (Chair), Igor Tregub, Marlene Esquivel, Eric Parfrey, Andy Sawyer, Arthur Feinstein, Karen Maki

Finance Committee: Entire California Executive Committee