SIERRA CLUB CALIFORNIA/NEVADA AWARDS

All awards are not given every year updated July 31, 2017

SALLY AND LES REID AWARD recognizes an individual who has served Sierra Club California in the area of conservation. The award is named for two of our most distinguished and effective activists. In addition to serving on the Sierra Club Board of Directors, both Sally and Les were instrumental in developing the club in a new area - Sally with forestry issues in Southern California forests, and Les in developing connections with organized labor. Sally Reid died in 2002, after a long illness.

Recipients: Sally and Les Reid, Judy Anderson, George Whitmore, Marge Sill, Robin Ives, Gordon Ruser, Joe Fontaine, Vicky Hoover, Joyce Burk, Kathy Bailey, Carla Cloer, Harriet Allen, John and Hermi Hiatt, (2004) Terry Davis, (2005) Gordon Nipp, (2006) Mark Bagley, (2007) John Moore, (2008) Joan Taylor, (2009) Bob Schneider, (2011) Joan Jones Holtz and Don Holtz, (2013) Letty and Cal French, (2014) Kim Floyd, (2015) Arthur Boone.

DAN SULLIVAN AWARD (ORIGINALLY THE FOUNDERS AWARD) recognizes an individual who has served Sierra Club California in an administrative or organizational capacity. The founders of Sierra Club California included about 50 volunteers who participated in a long process from 1983 through 1987 to develop a more effective California state organization.

Recipients: Dan Sullivan, Cal French, Bob Hartman, Ann Pogue, Claudia Elliot, Freeman Allen, Stan Weidart, Sherman Lewis, Janie Figan, Lee Siegal, George Shipway, Robin and Lori Ives, Emil Lawton, John Burdett, Jan Clucas, Ladd Seekins, Alan Carlton, (2004) Julia Bott, (2005) Clayton Mansfield (2006) Allan Eberhart, (2007) Owen Malloy, (2008) Andy Sawyer, (2009) Art and Lorraine Unger, (2011) Steve Farrell, (2012) Karen Maki, (2013) Vicki Lee, (2016) Dale Stocking.

JOHN ZIEROLD AWARD recognizes an individual who has served Sierra Club California in an area of legislative advocacy. John Zierold was the club's first lobbyist in Sacramento. Many of our landmark environmental laws were passed during his tenure including the Endangered Species Act, California Environmental Quality Act, the Coastal Protection Act, and the act that established energy conservation as the cornerstone of California energy policy.

Recipients: Mark Palmer, Rich Ferguson, Michael Endicott, Kathy Bailey, Elden Hughes, Joan Jones Holtz, Bob Schneider, Kelly Moran, John Holtzclaw, Tara Mueller, Kevin Hall, (2004) Bill Vanderburg, (2005) Bill Allayaud, (2006) Vicki Lee, (2007) Dale Stocking, (2008) Tim Frank, (2011) Bill Magavern, (2012) Kurt Newick, (2013) Jim Metropulos, (2013) Annie Pham

MARY FERGUSON AWARD recognizes a paid staff member who has served the Sierra Club in California. Mary Ferguson was on the Angeles Chapter staff from 1970 until she retired in the spring of 1995. During her long career she performed nearly every possible task for the chapter, always with a deep and thoughtful dedication to the Sierra Club's environmental goals.

Recipients: Mary Ferguson, Janie Hawker, Linda Barr, Frannie Hoover, David Nesmith, Barbara Boyle, Kathy Crist, Mark Massara, Mike Paparian, Bill Craven, Bonnie Holmes-Gen, Warren Alford, Bill Magavern, (2004) Marianne Batchelder, (2005) Don Forman, (2006) John Monson, (2007) Elizabeth Lambe, (2008) Bill Allayaud, (2009) Micah Mitrosky, (2011) Joanne Drabek, (2012) Andrew Christie, (2013) Sarah Matsumoto, (2014) Allen Hernandez, (2015) Kathryn Phillips.

WILLIAM PENN MOTT AWARD recognizes a person who has made a significant contribution to state parks in California. William Penn Mott was the California State Parks Director from 1967-1975, and subsequently the Director of the National Park Service. This award can go to a state parks employee and/or a non-Sierra Club individual. *(not given every year)*

Recipients: Doris Leonard, Murray Rosenthal, Steve Moore, Bob Mark, David Meyer, Daniel Preece, Tarren Collins, Mike Lunsford, (2004) Norman LaForce, (2005) Jack Beigle, (2006) Stan and Jeannie Haye, (2007) Barry Breckling, (2009) Mark Faull, (2011) In memory of John Wilkinson (Pine Ridge Association), (2012) Traci Gerardo-Torres, (2013) Patricia Jones

STAN WEIDERT AWARD [YE OLDE BOTTLE AWARD] recognizes an individual who has served Sierra Club California in public lands activism.

Recipients: Jim Dodson, Elden Hughes, Judy Anderson, Joe Fontaine, Vicky Hoover, Patty Carpenter-Hughes, George Barnes, Alan Carlton, Luis Ireland, Joan Taylor, Edie and Jim Harmon, Miriam Romero, Mike Prather, (2004) Wilma and Bryce Wheeler, (2005) Heather Anderson, (2006) John Rasmussen, (2007) Tom Budlong, (2008) Craig Deutsche, (2009) Susan Sorrells and Brian Brown, (2011) Carol Wiley, (2012) Sid Silliman, (2013) Joyce Burk, (2014) Fred Roberts, (2015) Terry Frewin.

BOB HATTOY AWARD recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to Sierra Club political activities in California (established 2011). Bob Hattoy was a witty and outspoken advocate for the environment and for AIDS research," LA Times, 3-6-07. Bob was the Sierra Club Southern California Regional Representative 1981 - 92; he advised activists on the importance of electing candidates who support Club policies. Bob subsequently served in the U.S. Department of the Interior, 1993-1999, and served on the California Fish & Game Commission Board from 2002 - 2007. He was President of the Commission when he died in 2007.

Recipients: (2011) Susana Reyes, (2012) Howard Strauss, (2013) Victoria Brandon, (2014) Gayle Eads, (2015) Alex Mintzer.

SPECIAL RECOGNITION for long time activism

Previous recipients: (1999) Stan and Carl Weidert, (2001) Matt Kuzins, (2007) Letty French, (2008) Joe Fontaine, (2009) Eric Parfrey, (2011) Ed Mainland and Jim Stewart, (2012) John Stephens, (2013) Richard Garcia, Jono Hildner, Dave Grubb, (2014) Gail & Ladd Seekins, (2015) Ralph Salisbury.