November 12, 2019

Honorable James Inhofe, Chairman Senate Armed Services Committee 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Inhofe,

We, the undersigned non-governmental organizations, are deeply troubled by proposals to remove critical provisions related to per- and poly- fluoroalkyl substances, or PFAS, from the National Defense Authorization Act for FY 2020.

Military communities, military firefighters and active duty servicemembers are among the most vulnerable to the risks of PFAS pollution—which include cancer, reproductive and developmental harms, and immunological effects. The Department of Defense (DOD) has required the use of PFAS in military firefighting foams for fifty years and estimates that there are more than 400 known or suspected military sites contaminated with PFAS. So far, PFAS has been detected in seven communities in Oklahoma, including six military installations.

Our military communities deserve better. Congress should take action to reduce or eliminate ongoing sources of PFAS pollution, identify the extent of contamination, and quickly remediate PFAS pollution. To that end, as Congress finalizes the FY2020 NDAA, we urge you to retain provisions that would quickly end military use of PFAS in firefighting foam and food packaging; require ground and drinking water quality monitoring for PFAS; require reporting of industrial discharges of PFAS; ensure safe and effective disposal and destruction of military PFAS wastes; limit industrial discharges of PFAS; set health-protective drinking water standards that protect vulnerable populations, including children; and provide funding for additional studies, data sharing, and remediation.

In addition, we urge you to designate PFAS as "hazardous substances" under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act. The DOD has cited the absence of a "hazardous substance" designation when refusing to clean-up legacy PFAS pollution on or near military installations. Furthermore, we urge you to accelerate PFAS cleanups at military facilities through the use of cooperative agreements.

Our organizations urge you to support efforts to address PFAS contamination through the NDAA for FY 2020 and will oppose enactment of an NDAA that fails to address ongoing and legacy PFAS contamination.

Sincerely,

Loreen Hackett Administrator #PfoaProjectNY

Pamela K. Miller Executive Director Alaska Community Action on Toxics Elizabeth Saunders Coordinator Alliance for a Healthy Tomorrow

Katie Huffling Executive Director Alliance of Nurses for Healthy Environments David Levine President American Sustainable Business Council

Meg Kerr Senior Director of Policy Audubon Society of Rhode Island

Richard Ochs Convener Baltimore Peace Action

Amanda Heier President and CEO Breast Cancer Prevention Partners

Hope Grosse Co-Founder Buxmont Coalition For Safer Water

Laura Deehan Public Health Advocate CALPIRG

Dana Sargent Executive Director Cape Fear River Watch

Michael Green CEO Center for Environmental Health

Andrew Rosenberg Director Center for Science and Democracy, Union of Concerned Scientists

Bonnie Raindrop Legislative Chair Central Maryland Beekeepers Association

Adrienne Esposito Executive Director Citizens Campaign for the Environment

Laura Olah Executive Director Citizens for Safe Water Around Badger (CSWAB.org) Kathleen A. Curtis, LPN Executive Director Clean and Healthy New York

Emily Donovan Co-Founder Clean Cape Fear

Lynn Thorp National Campaigns Director Clean Water Action

Myron Arnowitt Pennsylvania Director Clean Water Action - Pennsylvania

Vicki Quint Firefighter Advocate Code PFAS

Heather A. Govern Vice President and Director of Clean Air and Water Conservation Law Foundation

Joshua McNeil Executive Director Conservation Voters of PA

Tracy Carluccio Deputy Director Delaware Riverkeeper Network

Christine Santillana Associate Legislative Counsel Earthjustice

Rebecca Meuninck Deputy Director Ecology Center

Bart Johnsen-Harris Director, Federal Clean Water Campaign Environment America

Christopher Phelps State Director Environment Connecticut Nathan Murphy State Director Environment Michigan

Drew Ball Director Environment North Carolina

Patrick MacRoy Deputy Director Environmental Health Strategy Center

Linda Shosie Executive Director Environmental Justice Task Force-Tucson

Scott Faber Sr. Vice President Environmental Working Group

Bill Dornbos Executive Director Farmington River Watershed Association, Inc.

Stel Bailey Executive Director Fight For Zero

Jill Ryan Executive Director Freshwater Future

Marie McCormick Executive Director Friends of the Rouge

Julian Gonzalez Clean and Healthy Waters Program Manager GreenLatinos

Emily Sutton Haw Riverkeeper Haw River Assembly

Dr. Barry A. Coddens Chairman Illinois Council Trout Unlimited Iyana Simba Clean Water Advocate Illinois Environmental Council

Jodi Rose Executive Director Interfaith Partners for the Chesapeake

Alicia Smith Community Liaison Junction Function

Madeleine Foote Deputy Legislative Director League of Conservation Voters

Jan Largent President League of Women Voters of OK

Paulette Hammond President Maryland Conservation Council

Emily Scarr State Director Maryland PIRG

Paulette Hammond Secretary Maryland United for Peace and Justice

Laurene Allen Director Merrimack Citizens for Clean Water

Lisa Wozniak Executive Director Michigan League of Conservation Voters

Kimberlee Wright Executive Director Midwest Environmental Advocates

Cheryl Nenn Riverkeeper Milwaukee Riverkeeper Erik D. Olson Senior Director for Health and Food Natural Resources Defense Council

Stephanie Bishop Schweickert Senior Campaign Organizer North Carolina Conservation Network

Louise Washer President Norwalk River Watershed Association

A. J. Birkbeck Managing Director PFAS Alliance

Andy Bauer Chair, PCETF Portland, CT, Clean Energy Task Force

Kistin Quell-Garguilo Chairman Ridgefield Action Committee for the Environment

Alicea Charamut Executive Director Rivers Alliance of Connecticut

Liz Hitchcock Director Safer Chemicals Healthy Families

Sarah Doll Executive Director Safer States

Judy Allen Steering Committee Representative Save Our Water CT

William Lucey Long Island Soundkeeper Save the Sound

Dalal Aboulhosn Deputy Legislative Director Sierra Club Meghan Boian Legislative Counsel Southern Environmental Law Center

Robin Schneider Executive Director Texas Campaign for the Environment

Carol F. Kwiatkowski Executive Director The Endocrine Disruption Exchange

Alexis Luckey Executive Director Toxic Free NC

Laurie Valeriano Executive Director Toxic-Free Future

Shaina Kasper State Director Toxics Action Center Campaigns

Milledge West Principal Tyson, West & Associates, LLC

Dr. Laura Distelhorst, DNP Associate Professor University of Akron*

Lauren Hierl Executive Director Vermont Conservation Voters

Paul Burns Executive Director Vermont Public Interest Research Group

Katlyn Schmitt Staff Attorney Waterkeepers Chesapeake

Monica Lewis-Patrick President & CEO We the People of Detroit Bill Wood Executive Director West Michigan Environmental Action Council

Anne Harvey Volunteer Whidbey Waterkeepers

Christina Duncan VP Wilton Go Green Stephen Miles Executive Director Win Without War

Diane Lembck President Wisconsin Metro Audubon Society

Diane Cotter Founder Your Turnout Gear and PFOA

Heather Trim Executive Director Zero Waste Washington

Cc: Honorable Jack Reed Honorable Adam Smith Honorable Mac Thornberry

*organization for identification purposes only