

754 Williamson Street, Madison, WI 53703 (608) 256-0565 http://sierraclub.org/wisconsin

CONTACT: Bill Davis, Chapter Director, 608-256-0565, Dave Blouin, Chapter Political Chair, 608-220-4040

SIERRA CLUB ANNOUNCES ENDORSED CANDIDATES

MADISON - The John Muir Chapter of the Sierra Club today released its list of endorsements to date for U.S. Senate, Congress, and State Legislature in the 2018 elections.

"The Sierra Club is very proud to announce these endorsements," said Bill Davis, Chapter Director. "These candidates are committed to protecting Wisconsin families' health, air and water and to building a clean energy economy that works for Wisconsin."

The John Muir Chapter has endorsed Tony Evers for Governor, Tammy Baldwin for Senate, and seven candidates for Congress including Randy Bryce, Tom Palzewicz, and Dan Kohl. We also endorsed 92 candidates so far this year for the State Legislature. Incumbent officials were judged based on their overall environmental voting record, public statements and activities while in office. Challengers were measured by their responses to questionnaires and interviews, environmental platforms, public service, and public statements.

The 2017-18 Sierra Club Legislative Scorecard was used in part to judge incumbent candidates and can be found at: http://www.sierraclub.org/wisconsin/lobbying-elections/political. 44 state lawmakers running for reelection scored a perfect 100% on the scorecard and have been named "2018 Environmental Champion" for their demonstrated commitment to preserving Wisconsin's environment. Additional Environmental Champions that are not up for reelection are Senators Jon Erpenbach, Dave Hansen, LaTonya Johnson, Mark Miller, Fred Risser, Patty Schachtner, Jennifer Schilling, Lena Taylor, and Kathleen Vinehout.

"The GOP voted lockstep to continue its all-out assault on the environment last session", concluded Dave Blouin, Political Committee Chair. "Electing strong environmental leaders who will work hard for Wisconsin's environment is a priority for the Club. We will do everything we can to help pro-environment candidates win."

The Sierra Club will mobilize our members to work for endorsed candidates. Our grassroots member volunteers will help distribute literature, contact neighbors and friends, make phone calls to voters and get out the vote. We will announce additional endorsements soon.

The list of endorsed candidates follows on next pages.

Sierra Club Proudly Endorses these candidates for Election in 2018 2018 Environmental Champions listed in bold

Wisconsin Governor

Tony Evers

U.S. Senate

Tammy Baldwin

U.S Congress:

Randy Bryce 1st District
Mark Pocan 2nd District
Ron Kind 3rd District
Gwen Moore 4th District
Tom Palzewicz 5th District
Dan Kohl 6th District
Beau Liegeois 8th District

State Senate

Caleb Frostman D-Sturgeon Bay (1)

Tim Carpenter D-Milwaukee (3)

Julie Henszey D-Wauwatosa (5)

Chris Larson D-Milwaukee (7)

Kyle Whelton D-Sheboygan (9)

Michelle Zahn D-Juneau (13)

Janis Ringhand D-Evansville (15)

Kriss Marion D-Blanchardville (17)

Lee Snodgrass D-Appleton (19)

Lori Hawkins D-Bristol (21)

Janet Bewley D-Mason (25)

Jon Erpenbach, D-Middleton (27)

Richard Pulcher D-Lublin (29)

Chris Kapsner D-Boyceville (23)

Jeff Smith D-Eau Claire (31)

State Assembly

Scott Gavin, D-Little Chute (3)
Tony Lee, D-Green Bay (4)
Matt Lederer, D-Appleton (5)
Daniel Riemer, D-Milwaukee (7)
JoCasta Zamarripa, D-Milwaukee (8)
David Bowen, D-Milwaukee (10)
Jason Fields, D-Milwaukee (11)
Dennis McBride, D-Wauwatosa (13)
Robyn Vining, D-Wauwatosa (14)

Lillian Cheesman, D-Milwaukee (15) **David Crowley**, D-Milwaukee (17) **Evan Goyke**, D-Milwaukee (18) **Jonathan Brostoff**, D-Milwaukee (19) **Christine Sinicki**, D-Milwaukee (20)

Gabriel Gomez, D-S. Milwaukee (21)

Aaron Matteson, D-Pewaukee (22)

Liz Sumner, D-Fox Point (23)

Jennifer Estrada, D-Manitowoc (25)

Rebecca Clarke, D-Shebovgan (26)

Jennifer Estrada, D-Manitowoc (25) Rebecca Clarke, D-Sheboygan (26) Nanette Bulebosh, D-Elkhart Lake (27) Kim Butler, D-Balsam Lake (28)

Para Harrarda D. D. a. Falla /

Barry Hammarback, D-River Falls (30)

Brittany Keyes, D-Beloit (31)
Katherine Gaulke, D-Elkhorn (32)
Chris Meier, D-Eagle River (34)
Mark Martello, D-Tomahawk (35)
Melissa Winker, D-Oconomowoc (38)
Elisha Barudin, D-Beaver Dam (39)
Erin Tracy, D-Weyauwega (40)
Frank Buress, D-Westfield (41)
Ann Groves Lloyd, D-Lodi (42)
Don Vruwink, D-Milton (43)

Don Vruwink, D-Milton (43)
Deb Kolste, D-Janesville (44)
Mark Spreitzer, D-Beloit (45)
Gary Hebl, D-Sun Prairie (46)
Jimmy Anderson, D-Fitchburg (47)

Melissa Sargent, D-Madison (48) Mike Mooney, D-Platteville (49) Art Shrader, D-Reedsburg (50)

Jeff Wright, D-Plain (51)

Kevin Booth, D-Fond du Lac (52) **Gordon Hintz**, D-Oshkosh (54) Dan Schierl, D-Neenah (55) Diana Lawrence, D-Appleton (56) **Amanda Stuck**, D-Appleton (57)

Dennis Degenhardt, D-West Bend (58) Christine Rahlf, D-Cedarburg (60) Gina Walkington, D-Bristol (61) John Lehman, D-Racine (62) Joel Jacobsen, D-Burlington (63) Peter Barca, D-Kenosha (64)

Authorized and paid for by the Sierra Club. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.

Tod Ohnstad, D-Kenosha (65)

Greta Neubauer, D-Racine (66)

Wren Keturi, D-Chippewa Falls (67)

Wendy Sue Johnson, D-Eau Claire (68)

Cari Fay, D-Merrilan (70)

Katrina Shankland, D-Stevens Point (71)

David Gorski, D-Wisconsin Rapids (72)

Nick Milroy, D- South Range (AD 73)

Beth Meyers, D-Bayfield (74)

Ali Holzman, D-Cumberland (75)

Chris Taylor, D-Madison (76)

Shelia Stubbs, D-Madison (77)

Lisa Subeck, D-Madison (78)

Dianne Hesselbein, D-Middleton (79)

Sondy Pope, D-Verona (AD 80)
Dave Considine, D-Portage (81)
Erica Flynn, D-Greenfield (84)
Allison Leahy, D-Wausau (85)
Nancy Stencil, D-Wausau (86)
Elizabeth Riley, D-Hayward (87)
Tom Sieber, D-Green Bay (88)
Ken Holdorf, D-Marinette (89)
Jodi Emerson, D-Eau Claire (91)
Rob Grover, D-Galesville (92)
Steve Doyle, D-Onalaska (94)
Jill Billings, D- La Crosse (95)
Paul Buhr, D-Viroqua (96)

###

Founded in 1892 by John Muir, the Sierra Club is America's oldest, largest and most influential grassroots environmental organization. The Sierra Club's mission is to explore, enjoy, and protect the wild places of the earth. The Sierra Club – John Muir Chapter is made up of 18,000 members and supporters from throughout Wisconsin working to promote clean energy and protect land and water resources.