

THE MARYLAND GENERAL ASSEMBLY Annapolis, Maryland 21401

June 18th, 2019

We, members of the Maryland General Assembly, are outraged by the Columbia Gas lawsuit attempting to seize Maryland land to construct a fracked gas pipeline. This litigation is an affront to the democratic processes that have denied them access to this land and burdens Maryland residents with numerous public health risks, without any discernible benefit. We will work with the Attorney General, Department of Natural Resources and other stakeholders to defend against this lawsuit.

Last January the Board of Public Works unanimously rejected an easement for a right of way of the historic Maryland Rail Trail for the Potomac Pipeline. This decision came after two years of staunch opposition from local municipalities, residents, activists, and members of the General Assembly who had grave concerns about the risks associated with the construction and operation of the Potomac Pipeline. On May 16th, 2019 Columbia Gas, a subsidiary of TransCanada, filed a complaint in condemnation against Maryland for the right of way to build the Potomac Pipeline. Essentially, Columbia Gas, in disregard for the State's right to protect its residents, water supply, and natural resources, is suing to move ahead with its plans to place a dangerous fracked-gas pipeline under the Potomac River.

As legislators, we believe the construction of this pipeline is counter to the vision we have for Maryland's environmental and energy future. In 2017 legislators worked together to become the first state with gas reserves to legislatively ban fracking. We also have worked to increase our use of renewable energy by passing the Clean Energy Jobs Act and transitioning away from dirty fossil fuels.

We stand with the Department of Natural Resources and support a vigorous defense against this appalling lawsuit.

Sincerely,

Senator Jill P. Carter

Senator Ben Kramer

Senator Clarence Lam

Senator Susan C. Lee

Senator Paul G. Pinsky Chair, Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee

Senator Jim Rosapepe

Senator William C. Smith, Jr., Vice Chair, Judicial Proceedings Committee

Senator Jeff Waldstreicher

Senator Mary Washington

Senator Bobby Zirkin, Chair, Judicial Proceedings Committee

Delegate Heather Bagnall

Delegate Ben Barnes

Delegate Kumar Barve, Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee

Delegate Regina T. Boyce

Delegate Benjamin Brooks

Delegate Alice Cain

Delegate Jon S. Cardin

Delegate Al Carr

Delegate Lorig Charkoudian

Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield

Delegate Bonnie Cullison

Delegate Kathleen Dumais

Delegate Eric Ebersole

Delegate Jessica Feldmark

Delegate Diana Fennell

Delegate Wanika Fisher

Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo

Delegate Tawanna Gaines, Vice Chair, Appropriations Committee

Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, Vice Chair, Rules and Executive Nominations Committee

Delegate Michele Guyton

Delegate Shelly Hettleman

Delegate Terri L. Hill

Delegate Steve Johnson

Delegate Ken Kerr

Delegate Marc Korman

Delegate Carol Krimm

Delegate Steve Lafferty

Delegate Mary Lehman

Delegate Robbyn Lewis

Delegate Lesley Lopez

Delegate Sara Love

Delegate David Moon

Delegate Nick J.Mosby

Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr

Delegate Edith J. Patterson

Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, Vice Chair, Health and Government Operations Committee

Delegate Shane Pendergrass, Chair, Health and Government Operations Committee

Delegate Lily Qi

Delegate Kirill Reznik

Delegate Mike Rogers

Delegate Samuel I. "Sandy" Rosenberg

Delegate Emily Shetty

Delegate Stephanie Smith

Delegate Jared Solomon

Delegate Dana Stein, Vice Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee

Delegate Vaughn Stewart
Delegate Charles E. Sydnor III
Delegate Jen Terrasa
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama
Delegate Courtney Watson
Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins
Delegate Karen Lewis Young