

# NEWS RELEASE

754 Williamson Street, Madison, WI 53703 (608) 256-0565 <a href="http://sierraclub.org/wisconsin">http://sierraclub.org/wisconsin</a>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: August 20, 2020

**CONTACT**: Elizabeth Ward, Chapter Director

Dave Blouin, Political Chair

# Sierra Club Announces 2020 Endorsements

Madison – The Wisconsin Chapter of the Sierra Club today announced its endorsements to date for Congress and the State Legislature in the November 3, 2020 elections. These endorsements are in addition to the recently announced endorsements of Joe Biden for President and Kamala Harris for Vice President.

"The Sierra Club is proud to announce these endorsements," said Elizabeth Ward, Wisconsin Chapter Director. "These candidates are committed to protecting Wisconsin families' health, air and water and to building a clean energy economy that works for Wisconsin."

The Wisconsin Chapter has endorsed candidates in all 8 Congressional Districts. They are in order by District: Roger Polack, Mark Pocan, Ron Kind, Gwen Moore, Tom Palzewicz, Jessica King, Tricia Zunker and Amanda Stuck. We also endorsed 92 candidates so far this year for the State Senate and Assembly. Incumbent officials were judged based on their overall environmental voting record, public statements and activities while in office. Challengers were measured by their responses to questionnaires and interviews, environmental platforms, public service, and public statements.

State lawmakers who scored a perfect 100% pro-environment voting record and have been named a **2020 Environmental Champion** for their demonstrated commitment to preserving Wisconsin's environment. The names of the **Environmental Champions** are listed in bold in the list of endorsed candidates below.

"The GOP leadership in the legislature ensured that no progress was made on environmental legislation by refusing to hold hearings on important bills and the GOP legislators voted lockstep in support of their all-out assault on the environment last session," concluded Dave Blouin, Political Committee Chair. "Electing strong independent environmental leaders who will work hard for Wisconsin's environment is a priority for the Club. We will do everything we can to help pro-environment candidates win."

The Sierra Club this fall is launching the largest state and national mobilization in our history using our grassroots member volunteers to turn out fellow members, supporters and the public to vote and to work for endorsed candidates.

The list of endorsed candidates follows on next pages.

Authorized and paid for by the Sierra Club. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.

# Sierra Club Proudly Endorses these candidates for Election in 2020 2020 Environmental Champions listed in bold

# **President and Vice President**

Joe Biden and Kamala Harris

#### **U.S Congress:**

Roger Polack 1<sup>st</sup> District 2<sup>nd</sup> District Mark Pocan Ron Kind 3<sup>rd</sup> District 4<sup>th</sup> District Gwen Moore Tom Palzewicz 5<sup>th</sup> District Jessica King 6<sup>th</sup> District Tricia Zunker 7<sup>th</sup> District Amanda Stuck 8<sup>th</sup> District

### State Senate

**Senator Lena Taylor,** D-Milwaukee (District 4)

Sen. LaTonya Johnson, D-Milwaukee (6)

Neal Plotkin, D-Glendale (8)

Sen. Patty Schachtner, D-Somerset (10)

Ed Vocke, D-Minocqua (12) Joni Anderson, D-Adams (14)

Melissa Sargent, D-Madison (16)\*
Aaron Wojciechowski, D-Oshkosh (18)

Sen. Bob Wirch, D-Kenosha (22)

Paul Piotrowski, D-Stevens Point (24)

Kelda Roys, D-Madison (26)

Jonathon Hansen, D-De Pere (30)

Brad Pfaff, D-Onalaska (32)

\*Melissa Sargent scored 100% as District 48 State Representative

#### State Assembly

Kim Jensen, D-Egg Harbor (District 1)

Emily Voight, D-Appleton (3)

Kathy Hinkfuss, D-Green Bay (4)

Richard Sarnwick, D-Shawano (6)

**Rep. Daniel Riemer**, D-Milwaukee (7)

Sylvia Ortiz-Velez D-Milwaukee (8)

Rep. Marisabel Cabrera, D-Milwaukee (9)

# **State Assembly continued:**

Rep. David Bowen, D-Milwaukee (10)

Dora Drake, D-Milwaukee (11)

Rep. LaKeshia Myers D-Milwaukee (12)

Rep. Robyn Vining, D-Wauwatosa (14)

Jessica Katzenmeyer, D-West Allis (15)

Rep. Kalan Haywood, D-Milwaukee (16)

Supreme Moore Omokunde, D-Milwaukee

(17)

Rep. Evan Goyke, D-Milwaukee (18)

Rep. Jonathan Brostoff, D-Milwaukee (19)

Rep. Christine Sinicki, D-Milwaukee (20)

Deb Adraca, D-Whitefish Bay (23)

Emily Siegrist, D-River Hills (24)

Mary Lynne Donohue, D-Sheboygan (26)

Kim Butler, D-Balsam Lake (28)

Sarah Yacoub, D-Hudson (30)

Elizabeth Lochner-Abel, D-Walworth (31)

Katherine Gaulke, D-Elkhorn (32)

Mason Becker, D-Fort Atkinson (33)

Kirk Bangstad, D-Minocqua (34)

Tyler Ruprecht, D-Merrill (35)

Abigail Lowery, D-DeForest (37)

Melissa Winker, D-Oconomowoc (38)

Izzy Hassey Nevarez, D-Juneau (39)

Deb Silvers, D-New London (40)

Nate Zimdars, D-Ripon (41)

14 1: 4 1: 5 5: (42)

Melisa Arndt, D-Rio (42)

Rep. Don Vruwink, D-Milton (43)

Sue Conley, D-Janesville (44)

Rep. Mark Spreitzer, D-Beloit (45)

**Rep. Gary Hebl**, D-Sun Prairie (46)

Rep. Jimmy Anderson, D-Fitchburg (47)

Samba Baldeh, D-Madison (48)

Shaun Murphy-Lopez, D-Hillsboro (49)

Kriss Marion, D-Blanchardville (51)

Rep. Gordon Hintz, D-Oshkosh (54)

Authorized and paid for by the Sierra Club. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.

## State Assembly continued:

Dan Schierl, D-Neenah (55)

Diana Lawrence, D-Appleton (56)

Lee Snodgrass, D-Appleton (57)

Gina Walkington, D-Bristol (61)

August Schutz, D-Caledonia (62)

Joel Jacobsen, D-Burlington (63)

Rep. Tip McGuire, D-Somers (64)

**Rep. Tod Ohnstad,** D-Kenosha (65)

Rep. Greta Neubauer, D-Racine (66)

Chris Kapsner, D-Sheridan (67)

Emily Berge, D-Eau Claire (68)

Brian Giles, D-Marshfield (69)

John Baldus, D-Stevens Point (70)

Rep. Katrina Shankland, D-Stevens Point (71)

Criste Greening, D-Wisconsin Rapids (72)

Rep. Nick Milroy, D- South Range (AD 73)

Rep. Beth Meyers, D-Bayfield (74)

John Ellenson, D-Shell Lake (75)

Francesca Hong, D-Madison (76)

Rep. Shelia Stubbs, D-Madison (77)

Rep. Lisa Subeck, D-Madison (78)

Rep. Dianne Hesselbein, D-Middleton (79)

Rep. Sondy Pope, D-Verona (AD 80)

Rep. Dave Considine, D-Portage (81)

Jacob Malinowski, D-Greendale (82)

Alan DeYoung, D-Muskego (83)

Jeff Johnson, D-Wausau (85)

Richard Pulcher, D-Lublin (87)

Kristen Lyerly, D-De Pere (88)

Kad Lagara B. Madagua (00)

Karl Jaeger, D-Marinette (89)

Kristina Shelton, D-Green Bay (90)

Rep. Jodi Emerson, D-Eau Claire (91)

Amanda White Eagle, D-Black River Falls

(92)

Rep. Steve Doyle, D-Onalaska (94)

Rep. Jill Billings, D- La Crosse (95)

Aaron Perry, D-Waukesha (97)

###

Founded in 1892 by John Muir, the Sierra Club is America's oldest, largest and most influential grassroots environmental organization. The Sierra Club's mission is to explore, enjoy, and protect the wild places of the earth. The Sierra Club – John Muir Chapter is made up of 18,000 members and supporters from throughout Wisconsin working to promote clean energy and protect land and water resources.