CALIFORNIA CONSERVATION COMMITTEE

AKA CNRCC (THE CALIFORNIA/NEVADA REGIONAL CONSERVATION COMMITTEE)

We are the conservation arm of Sierra Club California, and have the primary responsibility for determining, interpreting, and applying Sierra Club policy on conservation issues of statewide significance. Our role is to study issues, develop policy, and coordinate and implement projects and programs for conservation issues that extend across chapter boundaries to all or part of California. Matters unique to a single chapter should be referred to the chapter.

Policy: You can find out whether the CNRCC has taken a position on a conservation issue by consulting the <u>Resolutions Summary Matrix</u>. New state conservation policy is created by the CNRCC at one of their four annual meetings. New policy is especially useful when staff or advocates want to take a public position or action. Prior to each CNRCC general meeting, the chapter ExCom or CNRCC issue committee submits a formal resolution to the CNRCC chair or a vice chair using the <u>CNRCC template</u>.

Conservation work: The actual conservation work of the CNRCC is done by almost 20 committees and task forces, which are managed by the Steering Committee. These committees research and monitor issues, attend statewide government meetings, propose conservation policy, and run statewide conservation campaigns. You can find out more about issue committees here. We hope you will participate in our statewide conservation work by joining one of our issues committees.

Membership: The CNRCC is composed of 58 delegates; 26 of whom are appointed executive committees of the 13 California Sierra Club including the Toiyabe Chapter, which contains Nevada and parts of Eastern California, 24 of whom are appointed by the CNRCC Steering Committee, and 8 CNRCC Steering Committee members.

Leadership: The Steering Committee organizes the work of the committee and implements its decisions. The Steering Committee builds meeting agendas, sends out meeting minutes, maintains the website – and does whatever is needed to establish and disseminate statewide conservation policy. The Steering Committee members are:

Karen Maki, Chair – karenmaki@comcast.net
Arthur Feinstein, Northern Vice Chair – arthurfeinstein@earthlink.net
Sandra Cattell, Southern Vice Chair – sumcatt@yahoo.com
Gary Bailey, Northern Secretary – tigergary@earthlink.net
George Courser, Southern Secretary – gcourser@hotmail.com
Charlotte Allen, Treasurer – c.allen@comcast.net
Steven Farrell, CNRCC Liaison – mr_sqf@yahoo.com

The California Conservation Committee will meet in teleconferenced cross-site meeting session in February and in San Luis Obispo April 27-29, 2018. We hope you will join us! All Sierra Club members are welcome. In the meantime, check out our website.

Conservation Issue Committees

Name	Chair	Email
Agriculture	Mike Stubblefield	motodata@roadrunner.com
Black Bear	Richard Garcia	richardjgarcia@comcast.net
Coast	Dave Grubb	davidgrubb@sbcglobal.net
	Nancy Okada	nxokada@yahoo.com
Desert	Terry Frewin	terrylf@cox.net
Energy-Climate	Luis Amezcua	lamezcua@gmail.com
	Jim Stewart	DrJimStewart@gmail.com
Environmental and	George Courser	gcourser@hotmail.com
Social Justice *		
Off-Road Vehicle	George Barnes	ggared@gmail.com
Sustainable Population	Karen Pitts	karen.gaia.pitts@gmail.com
Sequoia	Carla Cloer	cac@ocsnet.net
Sierra National Forests,	Joe Fontaine	fontaine@wildblue.net
Our Wild America		
Southern California Forests	Joyce Burk	joyceburk@earthlink.net
State Forest	Susan Robinson	srmw@comcast.net
	Karen Maki	karenmaki@comcast.net
State Parks	Alan Carlton	carltonal@yahoo.com
	Patricia Jones	pvjones10@gmail.com
Stop Clearcutting California, Our Wild America	Karen Maki	karenmaki@comcast.net
	Charle Divellaharrah	schaffirm@gmail.com
Transportation Committee	Steve Birdlebough Charlotte Allen	scbaffirm@gmail.com
Water	Leon Shapiro	c.allen@comcast.net leoneshapiro@gmail.com
Wilderness	Anne Henny	anneth16@sbcglobal.net
vviidei i i e 33	Jim Hines	jhcasitas@gmail.com
Wildlife	Jim Hines	jhcasitas@gmail.com
Yosemite	Alan Carlton	carltonal@yahoo.com
Zero Waste and Recycling*	Ruth Abbe	ruth.abbe@gmail.com

Note: * indicates new forming committee.