

Natural Resources Commission

What is the Natural Resources Commission?

The Natural Resources Commission (NRC) is responsible for setting policy and adopting rules for the Department of Natural Resources, as it relates to hunting, fishing, and trapping regulations. The commissioners set the budget for the natural resource section of the lowa Department of Natural Resources. The commission approves the acquisition and disposal of state park land, recreation facilities, and wildlife programs. Any sale of logs on the state forest property must be approved by the NRC. The NRC serves as a judge and jury on contested cases, when violators are being penalized for breaking laws under the jurisdiction of the Natural Resources Commission.

Their work is guided by Iowa Code Section 455A.5.

How are the members selected?

There are 7 members on the NRC. They are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. They serve 6-year terms and they can be reappointed. The terms are staggered so that only a few positions are filled each year. The terms begin on May 1.



The NRC members must be electors and have Photo by Pam Mackey-Taylor knowledge of the subjects covered by the NRC. In

accordance with Iowa Code Section 69.16, the NRC must be balanced by gender, which means either 4 members are female and 3 members are male or 4 members are male and 3 members are female.

According to Code of Iowa, Section 455A.5, the members are not to be selected based on political considerations, other than to keep the political affiliation balance. However in accordance with Iowa Code Section 69.16, only 4 commission members can be from one political party while the remaining 3 members can be from the other political party or are independents.

Address for the Natural Resources Commission

Natural Resources Commission, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, 502 East 9th Street, 4th Floor, Des Moines, IA 50319-0034.