Welcome to the Alamo Group of the Sierra Club

We invite you to join our 2,500 members as we explore, enjoy and protect San Antonio and its surrounding areas.

  • Come to one our monthly general meetings featuring prominent speakers on a vast array of subjects.
  • Come walk, hike, camp or backpack on one of our frequent outings.
  • Get involved in advocacy on local, state or national conservation issues.
  • See our leaders below.

About the Sierra Club

The Sierra Club's Mission Statement

To explore, enjoy, and protect the wild places of the earth; to practice and promote the responsible use of the earth's ecosystems and resources; to educate and enlist humanity to protect and restore the quality of the natural and human environment; and to use all lawful means to carry out those objectives.

The Sierra Club's members are 750,000 of your friends and neighbors. Inspired by nature, we work together to protect our communities and the planet. The Club is America's oldest, largest, and most influential grassroots environmental organization.

The Sierra Club was founded in 1892 by John Muir and others, originally to protect the Sierra Nevada mountains of California. Learn more about Sierra Club history, view a timeline of the Club's accomplishments, and explore our priority issues.

Through grassroots activism, public education, lobbying, and litigation, the national Sierra Club and its hundreds of local groups work to protect the health of our environment and preserve our remaining wild places.


Executive Committee (ExCom)

This is the Alamo Group's elected governing body.

Group Chair Alan Montemayor
  Steve Avery
  Bill Barker
  Joan Cunningham
  Arthur Dawes
  Tom Denyer
  Wendell Fuqua
  Darby Riley
  Karen Weehler
  Joe Yakubik

Outings Leaders

To inquire about a particular outing, visit the Alamo Sierra Club Outings page on Meetup to contact the trip leader. For general questions or concerns, contact an Outings Committee Co-Chair.

Outings Chair Andrea Rodriguez
Youth Outdoors Chair Open

Conservation Leaders

Contact the following volunteer leaders for conservation issues and answers.

Conservation Co-ChairMeredith McGuire
Conservation Co-ChairWendell Fuqua
(210) 373-0748
Climate Change Darby Riley
(210) 225-7236, x 1
Dark Skies Roy Ellzey
(210) 637-9969
DroughtAlyssa Burgin
(210) 381-4021
Energy Loretta Van Coppenolle
(210) 492-4620
Environmental Education Margaret Day
(210) 829-5632, 413-6402 (cell)
Fluoridation Loretta Van Coppenolle
(210) 492-4620
Forests/Trees Open
FrackingRussell Seal
(210) 289-9008
Green BuildingsJohn Hertz
(210) 413-4100
Organic GardeningDave Klar
(210) 485-6880
Recycling Open
TransportationBarbara McMillin
(210) 535-4276
WaterGeorge Rice
(210) 251-5524

Additional Leaders

Interested in a particular topic or activity? Contact any of the following individuals.

Chapter ExCom Representative Hector Gonzalez
(210) 226-6069
Chapter ExCom Rep. (Alternate) Margaret Day
(210) 829-5632, 413-6402 (cell)
Education Chair Margaret Day
(210) 829-5632, 413-6402 (cell)
Events ChairOpen 
FacebookmasterRichard Alles
Twitter Open
Fundraising ChairOpen 
Meetup Jerry Morrisey
(210) 382-2614
Meetup Margaret Day
(210) 829-5632, 413-6402 (cell)
Membership Chair Joan Cunningham
Editor, Newsletter Chair Richard Alles
Political Chair Darby Riley
(210) 225-7236, x 1
Political Vice Chair Open
(210) 343-0222
Program TechHector Gonzalez
(210) 226-6069
Publicity Chair Open
(210) 287-6712
Speaker Program Co-Chair Joan Cunningham
Speaker Program Co-Chair Karen Weehler
Tablings Chair Open
(210) 343-0222
Treasurer - AssistantHector Gonzalez
(210) 226-6069
Webmaster Richard Alles