The statewide work of Sierra Club Florida is directed by an executive committee of seven members, who are elected for two-year terms in the fall. The Sierra Club Florida Executive Committee (ExCom) meets quarterly along with leaders from the local groups to discuss and make decisions on issues of importance across the state.

Executive Committee Members

James ScottJames Scott (Chair)  is based in Tampa Bay and is a former Chair of the Suncoast Group. He remains on the Suncoast ExCom as an expert in sustainability, resiliency, climate adaptation, urban growth, and clean energy. James was part of St. Petersburg's successful Ready for 100 clean energy campaign. He is a solid champion of diversity, inclusion, and environmental justice issues. Contact: james.scott@florida.sierraclub.org 

Erica HallErica Hall is the Executive Committee Vice Chair and a former Co-Chair and member of the Florida Chapter's Equity, Inclusion and Justice Committee. She also represents the Florida Chapter as Delegate and Executive Committee Member of the national Sierra Council of Club Leaders (CCL). She also sits on the Suncoast Sierra Group Executive Committee. Contact: ericah@suncoastsierra.org

Steve WonderlySteve Wonderly is a life member of Sierra Club and Immediate Past Chair of the Florida Executive Committee. He is Chair of the Volusia Flagler group and serves on the chapter lobbying advisory committee. His primary interest is helping Sierra Club protect the environment through political action. Contact: steve.wonderly@florida.sierraclub.org

Craig DiamondCraig Diamond has a long history of leadership and involvement with Sierra Club Florida. He is Chair of the Sierra Florida Everglades Committee and has served in volunteer leadership and committee roles at the group, chapter, and national levels.  He also sits on the ExCom of the Big Bend group. Contact: craig.diamond@florida.sierraclub.org

Karen FreedmanKaren Freedman is a long-time Sierra Club volunteer and current Ancient Islands Group clean energy chair. As an environmental scientist and educator, Karen enjoys engaging youth in environmental stewardship and raising public awareness of climate and energy. Her interests include climate mitigation, sustainability, electric transportation, habitat restoration, and environmental justice, equity, and inclusion. Contact: freedmansierra@gmail.com

Debbie MatthewsDebbie Matthews of the Miami Group has a long history of leadership on both the Florida ExCom and  as  Miami Group chair and vice chair. She is a founding member of the Group Advisory Council (GAC), now known as the Group Empowerment Team (GET). Contact: debbie.matthews@florida.sierraclub.org 

hammond headshotChristina Hammond has served on the Loxahatchee Group Executive Committee and Chapter EIJ Committee. Her varied background includes working as a biologist for the US Fish and Wildlife Service.   An avid outdoors person, her dream is to one day become a regenerative farmer.

Additional Officers

Treasurer Tom Larson, tom.larson@florida.sierraclub.org

Secretary Deborah Longman-Marien, turtlecoastsc@gmail.com

Webmaster Marcia Biggs, marcia.biggs@florida.sierraclub.org

2023 Florida Chapter Quarterly Leadership Meetings

 Meetings are held both in person and virtually on Zoom and are open to all current members. To obtain location of meeting, agenda and access code, contact Javier.Estevez@sierraclub.com 

  • March 19    Gainesville 
  • June 25      Tampa
  • Sept. 24     Jacksonville
  • Dec. 2         West Palm Beach