Announcing This Year's Eco-Champions

The Sierra Club held its annual awards ceremony last September to honor people who protect the planet.

December 6, 2016

Ansel Adams Award | Use of photography to further a conservation cause: 
Nick Brandt, author of On This Earth trilogy

Chico Mendes Award | Grassroots leadership by an individual or NGO outside the U.S.:
National Council of Popular and Indigenous Organizations of Honduras

Communications Award | Use of communication to further the Sierra Club’s mission:
Dave Schneider, scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research

David R. Brower Award | Environmental reporting:
Bill Dawson, former reporter at the Houston Chronicle; founder of Texas Climate News

Denny and Ida Wilcher Award | Achievement in membership development or fundraising: 
The Loxahatchee Group of the Sierra Club Florida Chapter

Distinguished Achievement Award | Action of singular importance to conservation by a public official: 
State Representative Jessica Vega Pederson (D-Ore.)

Distinguished Service Award | Commitment to conservation by a public official: 
Representative Lois Capps (D-Calif.) and Dr. Katharine Hayhoe, director of the climate research center at Texas Tech University

EarthCare Award | Unique contribution to international conservation:
Sierra Club of British Columbia Foundation

Edgar Wayburn Award | Outstanding environmental service by a government official: 
Jonathan Jarvis, director of the National Park Service

Environmental Alliance Award | Furthering environmental goals through collaboration: 
Sierra Club Cumberland Chapter of Kentucky

John Muir Award | Distinguished record of leadership in national or international conservation: 
Tom Goldtooth, leader in indigenous-based environmental protection initiatives

Joseph Barbosa Award Club | Volunteers under the age of 30: 
Reynaldo Figueroa, student environmental leader at the Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico

Madelyn Pyeatt Award | Working with youths: 
Sheila Calderon, founder of the Loxahatchee Group Inspiring Connections Outdoors program

Oliver Kehrlein Award | Outings programs service: 
Bill Crane, Outings leader of the Sierra Club Angeles Chapter

One-Club Award | Outings combined with conservation: 
Luis Villanueva-Cubero, Outings leader of the Puerto Rico Chapter Northeast Ecological Corridor campaign

Raymond J. Sherwin International Award | Volunteer service in international conservation: 
Dr. A.P. Lino Grima and Wayne Howard, co-chairs of the Sierra Club’s Binational Great Lakes Committee

Special Achievement Award | Single act of conservation or Club service: 
Glenn Pascall, author of Southern California Mountain Country

Special Service Award | Strong and consistent commitment to conservation:
Eric Patterson, Sierra Club volunteer in the Illinois and New Mexico Chapters

William E. Colby Award | Club leadership, dedication, and service:
Susan Heitman, former member of the Board of the Sierra Club Foundation and other Club committees

William O. Douglas Award | Outstanding use of legal process to achieve national environmental goals:
David Guest, managing attorney of the Earthjustice office in Florida