Environmental Justice Award

The Environmental Justice Award is given to an individual or organization that has done outstanding work toward identifying and addressing environmental problems that have a disproportionately adverse effect on communities of color and/or low-income communities. This award will be conferred only when merited.

Past recipients

Renee Roberson (2021)

Marcus X Russell (2020)

Bre Jackson (2020)

Olinka Green (2020)

Chrishelle Palay (2019)

Joppa Freedman's Town Association (2019)

Oscar Garza (2018)

The Sandbranch Community (2016) 

Pete Rivera (2015)

Jackie Young (2015)

T.E.J.A.S. (2014)

Harris County Attorney's Office (2013)

ShaleTest, Eva Malina, Allison Sliva (2012)

North Central Texas Communities Alliance (2010)

Esperanza Peace and Justice Center, Graciela Sanchez, Director (San Antonio) (2009)

ALTURA (Goliad) (2008)

Mariana Chew-Sanchez (El Paso) (2007)

Hilton Kelley (Port Arthur)

Southwest Public Workers Union