Nomination Form for Sierra Club Honors and Awards

Nominations for Sierra Club Honors and Awards may be submitted online. Use the handy form below to make your nomination(s). We strongly recommend that you prepare and save your nominations in a separate document (like Microsoft Word, etc.). This gives you a backup copy. You can then paste the text into the appropriate fields on the nominations forms.

IMPORTANT: Please make sure the contact information you provide for the nominee (mailing address, phone and e-mail address) are accurate and up to date. This is the only way we have to reach the nominees if they are selected for awards.

For more information for nominators, click here.

Brief descriptions of each award are available here.

Submit an Award Nomination

Important Information for Nominators

Nominations for all Sierra Club awards are due by June 1. For fullest consideration, please submit your nominations early.

Awards are presented during the Club's annual meeting unless nominators prefer to have them presented locally

Please note the following when making a nomination:

  • Sierra Club employees are usually not eligible for volunteer awards.
  • Current members of the Sierra Club Board of Directors and immediate family members of the Honors and Awards Committee or the
  • Board Executive Committee also are not eligible to receive awards.
  • Award nominations may not come from family members or relatives (spouse, fiance, etc.)
  • Awards are usually not given posthumously.
  • We strongly recommend that you prepare and save your nominations in a separate document (like Microsoft Word, etc.). This gives you a backup copy. You can then paste the text into the appropriate fields on the nominations forms.


Documentation is critical for most awards. In addition to the nomination form, all entries should include a set of supporting materials such as news clippings, testimonial letters and samples of the nominee's work. Documentation should be mailed to:

Sierra Club Honors and Awards Committee
Ellen Davis
217 John Thomas
Georgetown TX 78628


Please do not send large attachments or multiple attachments by e-mail.

All nominators will be notified upon receipt of their nominations. Nominators also will be notified in August if their nominee is selected for an award. Note: Nomination packets will not be returned. Documentation for winning awards is sent to the Sierra Club archives at the University of California-Berkeley Library.

Here are some examples of good, well-written, and well-supported nominations:

For more information, contact the Awards Committee Chair Ellen Davis at

Nominate Sierra Club Members for Other Awards

Goldman Environmental Prize
The Goldman Environmental Prize is given each year to six environmental heroes - one from each of six continental regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, Island Nations, North America and South/Central America. The award recognizes outstanding environmental achievement, particulary by those individuals who have faced great personal challenges. The award stipend currently stands at $125,000. Get more information on the prize from their website.

The Tyler Prize 
The John and Alice Tyler Prize is awarded for environmental science, energy and medicine conferring great benefit upon mankind. The prize is endowed by gifts from the Alice C. Tyler Charitable Trust and the John C. Tyler Trust. The University of Southern California is administrator of the Tyler Prize. The annual award is $200,000. Nominations forms are available online. The deadline for nominations is September 15.

Renewable Natural Resources Foundation (RNRF)
The Renewable Natural Resources Foundation honors interdisciplinary achievements in the renewable natural resources field. Its Outstanding Achievement Award recognizes a project, publication, piece of legislation or similar achievement that occurred during the three years prior to nomination. Its Sustained Achievement Award recognizes a long-term contribution and commitment by an individual. Nomination forms are available on the RNRF web site under Programs/Awards. Nominations are due May 31.

National Conservation Achievement Awards
These awards, presented by the National Wildlife Federation, honor a variety of people and organizations who have helped protect or restore our environment and natural resources. Nomination forms may be downloaded here. The deadline for nominations is August 1 each year.

Lindbergh Award
The Lindbergh Award acknowledges individuals whose work has made a significant contribution toward balancing our technological advancements with the care and protection of our human and natural environments. The deadline for nominations each year is Dec. 15 and the award is presented in May. More information on this award is available here.

The Roy Family Award for Environmental Partnership
The Roy Family Award for Environmental Partnership, given by Harvard's John F. Kennedy School of Government, recognizes public-private partnerships that significantly enhance environmental quality and/or protect unique natural resources. It is given every other year, with the next award to be given in 2011. Nominations for this award are due by May 7, 2010. For more information, click here email.