Let's Connect

The Sierra Club, founded in 1892, is now the nation's largest and most influential grassroots environmental organization, with millions of members and supporters across the country.

The North Carolina Chapter was founded in 1970. Tens of thousands of members and supporters participate in our outings and events, action alerts, and other activities. The Chapter is the statewide umbrella for all Sierrans in North Carolina, with staff located in the Triangle and Wilmington areas. Our all-volunteer Executive Committee includes representatives from across the state.

Need help with your membership?

Do you want to check or update your mailing address, email preferences, donation information, or other membership data? You can:


Our office number: 919-833-8467
Our mailing address:  PO Box 30396, Raleigh, NC, 27622-0396

Erin Carey
Acting State Director / State Conservation Policy Director

Margaret Lillard
Communications Manager

Cynthia Smith
Office Manager

Executive Committee 2024

To contact members of the all-volunteer Executive Committee, send an email to nc.chapter@sierraclub.org.

At-large members (elected by statewide vote):

  • Katie Tomberlin (Chair) - Newport
  • Gerry Kingsley (Vice Chair) - Charlotte
  • Drew Ball - Asheville
  • Hannah Furgiuele - Buncombe County
  • Nicole Gaines - Browns Summit
  • Jim Taylor - Deep Gap
  • Marvin Winstead - Nashville
  • Pat Carstensen (Secretary, ad hoc) - Durham 

Group representatives:

  • Bob Cherry - Blue Ridge
  • Rich Eggeling - Cape Fear
  • Vacant - Capital
  • Penny Hooper - Croatan
  • Jeff Monico - Cypress
  • Deb Demske - Foothills
  • Emmy Grace - Headwaters
  • Ben Barnes - Medoc
  • Louie Rivers - Orange-Chatham
  • Karen Katula - Piedmont Plateau
  • Maryanne Rackoff - Western NC