Meet our 2022 midterm election climate champions!

Sierra Club Illinois seeks to elect environmental champions who will work to address the climate crisis and build a more equitable state by fighting for access to clean energy, air and water for all Illinoisans.

We follow a rigorous endorsement process that includes members from across the state and evaluates a candidate’s voting record, policy positions and their ability to win and be effective public servants. Sierra Club Illinois is committed to endorsing candidates that reflect the diverse communities and identities across the state and working to elevate diverse environmental champions to elected office. We're still making more endorsements, please check back later for more endorsements.

If you would like to learn more about volunteering for one of our endorsed candidates as a Sierra Club member, let us know by filling out our volunteer interest form.

Statewide Offices

Office  Candidate
Governor  JB Pritzker
Lieutenant Governor Juliana Stratton
Attorney General Kwame Raoul
State Treasurer  Mike Frerichs  
Secretary of State  Alexi Giannoulias
Supreme Court - District 2 Liz Rochford
Supreme Court - District 3 Mary Kay O'Brien


Workers Rights Amendment
Vote Yes

Illinois State Senate


District Candidate Main City Group
1 Javier Cervantes Chicago (Archer Heights)  Chicago
6 Sara Feigenholtz Chicago (Lakeview East)  Chicago
7 Mike Simmons Chicago (Edgewater) Chicago
8 Ram Villivalam Chicago (Lincolnwood) Chicago
9 Laura Fine Glenview Chicago
10 Robert F. Martwick Chicago (Portage Park)  Chicago
11 Mike Porfirio Bridgeview Chicago
12 Celina Villanueva Chicago (Little Village) Chicago
13 Robert Peters Chicago (Kenwood) Chicago
17 Elgie Sims Chicago (South Side) Chicago /Sauk-Calumet
20 Cristina Pacione-Zayas Chicago (Humboldt Park) Chicago
21 Laura Ellman Naperville River Prairie
22 Cristina Castro Elgin Northwest Cook County / Valley of the Fox
23 Suzy Glowiak-Hilton Elmhurst River Prairie
24 Lauren Nowak Carol Stream River Prairie
25 Karina Villa West Chicago River Prairie / Valley of the Fox
27 Ann Gillespie Arlington Heights Northwest Cook County
28 Laura Murphy Des Plaines Northwest Cook County
29 Julie A. Morrison Deerfield Woods and Wetlands
30 Adriane Johnson Waukegan Woods and Wetlands
31 Mary Edly-Allen Zion Woods and Wetlands
34 Steve Stadelman Rockford Northwest River Valleys
36 Mike Halpin Rock Island Eagle View / Heart of Illinois
42 Linda Holmes Batavia Valley of the Fox
43 Rachel Ventura Joliet Sauk-Calumet
46 Dave Koehler Peoria Heart of Illinois
52 Scott Bennett Champaign Prairie


Illinois State House of Representatives


District Candidate Main City Group
2 Lisa Hernandez Cicero Chicago
3 Eva Dina Delgado Chicago (Belmont Cragin) Chicago
4 Lilian Jimenez Chicago (Humboldt Park) Chicago
5 Lamont Robinson Chicago Chicago
6 Sonya Harper Chicago Chicago
7 Chris Welch Westchester Chicago
9 Lakesia Collins Chicago (North Lawndale) Chicago
11 Ann Williams Chicago (Lakeview) Chicago
12 Margaret Croke Chicago (Lincoln Park) Chicago
13 Hoan Huynh Chicago (Uptown) Chicago
14 Kelly Cassidy Chicago Chicago
16 Kevin Olickal Chicago (Skokie) Chicago
17 Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz Chicago (Glenview) Chicago / Woods and Wetlands
18 Robyn Gabel Evanston Chicago
19 Lindsey LaPointe Jefferson Park Chicago
21 Abdelnasser Rashid Berwyn Chicago
23 Edgar Gonzalez Riverside Chicago
24 Theresa Mah Chicago (McKinley Park) Chicago
26 Kam Buckner Chicago Chicago
27 Justin Slaughter Chicago (Crestwood) Sauk-Calumet
34 Nick Smith Chatham Chicago / Sauk-Calumet
38 Debbie Meyers-Martin Frankfort Sauk-Calumet
39 Will Guzzardi Chicago (Logan Square) Chicago
40 Jaime Andrade Chicago (Avondale) Chicago
41 Janet Yang Rohr Naperville River Prairie
42 Terra Costa Howard Lombard River Prairie
43 Anna Moeller Elgin Valley of the Fox
44 Fred Crespo Hanover Park Northwest Cook County
45 Jenn Ladisch Douglass Elmhurst River Prairie
46 Diane Blair-Sherlock Villa Park River Prairie
49 Maura Hirschauer West Chicago River Prairie
50 Barbara Hernandez Aurora Valley of the Fox
51 Nabeela Syed Palatine Northwest Cook County / Woods and Wetlands
53 Mark Walker Mount Prospect Northwest Cook County
54 Mary Beth Canty Arlington Heights Northwest Cook County
55 Marty Moylan Park Ridge Northwest Cook County
56 Michelle Mussman Elk Grove Village Northwest Cook County
57 Jonathan Carroll Des Plaines Northwest Cook County / Woods and Wetlands
58 Bob Morgan Lake Forest Woods and Wetlands
59 Daniel Didech Vernon Hills Northwest Cook County /  Woods and Wetlands
60 Rita Mayfield Waukegan Woods and Wetlands
61 Joyce Mason Zion Woods and Wetlands
62 Laura Faver Dias Libertyville Woods and Wetlands
65 Linda Robertson St. Charles Valley of the Fox
66 Suzanne Ness West Dundee Northwest Cook County
67 Maurice West Rockford Northwest River Valleys
68 David Vella Belvidere Northwest River Valleys
78 Camille Lilly Oak Park Chicago
81 Anne Stava-Murray Woodridge River Prairie
83 Matt Hanson Montgomery Valley of the Fox
84 Stephanie Kifowit Aurora River Prairie
85 Dagmara Avelar Romeoville River Prairie / Sauk-Calumet
91 Sharon Chung Bloomington Heart of Illinois
97 Harry Benton Plainfield Sauk-Calumet
103 Carol Ammons Urbana Prairie
112 Katie Stuart Collinsville Piasa Palisades

Cook County Elections

Cook County Forest Preserve Referendum
Vote Yes

Cook County Board President
Toni Preckwinkle

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago Commissioner
Mariyana Spyropoulos
Daniel Pogorzelski

Cook County Commissioner

District Candidate Main City Group
8 Anthony Joel Quezada Chicago (Logan Square) Chicago
9 Maggie Trevor Mount Prospect Chicago / Northwest Cook County
13 Josina Morita Evanston Chicago
14 Scott Britton Glenview Northwest Cook County
15 Kevin Morrison Hoffman Estates Northwest Cook County

Lake County Board

Lake County Clerk
Anthony Vega

District Candidate
2 Linda Troester
3 Ann Maine
4 Gina Roberts
6 John Wasik
7 Carissa Casbon
9 Mary Ross-Cunningham
10 Jessica Vealitzek
11 Paul Frank
12 Paras Parekh
13 Sandy Hart
15 Jennifer Clark
17 Alycia Timm
19 Marah Altenberg

DuPage County Forest Preserve District

District Candidate
President  Daniel Hebreard
1 Marsha Murphy
2 Tina Tyson Dunne
4 Jeff Gahris
5 Barbara O'Meara


Peoria County Board

District Candidate
Sharon Williams
2 Camille Coates
4 Brandy Bryant
5 James Dillon
9 Danny Phelan
10 Rob Reneau
17 Jennifer Groves-Allison


To inquire about Sierra Club Illinois endorsements, please contact