Meet our 2024 election climate champions!

Sierra Club Illinois seeks to elect environmental champions who will work to address the climate crisis and build a more equitable state by fighting for access to clean energy, air and water for all Illinoisans.

We follow a rigorous endorsement process that includes members from across the state and evaluates a candidate’s voting record, policy positions and their ability to win and be effective public servants. Sierra Club Illinois is committed to endorsing candidates that reflect the diverse communities and identities across the state and working to elevate diverse environmental champions to elected office. We're still making more endorsements, please check back later for more endorsements.

If you would like to learn more about volunteering for one of our endorsed candidates as a Sierra Club member, let us know by filling out our volunteer interest form.

Illinois State Senate


District Candidate Main City Group
1 Javier Cervantes Chicago (Archer Heights)  Chicago
4 Kimberly Lightford Broadview Chicago
5 Lakesia Collins Chicago (West Loop) Chicago
7 Mike Simmons Chicago (Edgewater) Chicago
10 Robert F. Martwick Chicago (Portage Park)  Chicago
13 Robert Peters Chicago (Kenwood) Chicago
20 Graciela Guzman Chicago (Logan Square) Chicago
22 Cristina Castro Elgin Northwest Cook County / Valley of the Fox
25 Karina Villa West Chicago River Prairie / Valley of the Fox
28 Laura Murphy Des Plaines Northwest Cook County
31 Mary Edly-Allen Zion Woods and Wetlands
43 Rachel Ventura Joliet Sauk-Calumet


Illinois State House of Representatives


District Candidate Main City Group
4 Lilian Jimenez Chicago (Humboldt Park) Chicago
5 Kimberly du Buclet Chicago Chicago
6 Sonya Harper Chicago Chicago
7 Chris Welch Westchester Chicago
8 La Shawn Ford Chicago Chicago
11 Ann Williams Chicago (Lakeview) Chicago
12 Margaret Croke Chicago (Lincoln Park) Chicago
14 Kelly Cassidy Chicago Chicago
17 Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz Chicago (Glenview) Chicago / Woods and Wetlands
18 Robyn Gabel Evanston Chicago
19 Lindsey LaPointe Jefferson Park Chicago
21 Abdelnasser Rashid Berwyn Chicago
23 Edgar Gonzalez Riverside Chicago
24 Theresa Mah Chicago (McKinley Park) Chicago
26 Kam Buckner Chicago Chicago
27 Justin Slaughter Chicago (Crestwood) Sauk-Calumet
36 Sonia Anne Khalil Oak Lawn Sauk-Calumet
38 Debbie Meyers-Martin Frankfort Sauk-Calumet
39 Will Guzzardi Chicago (Logan Square) Chicago
41 Janet Yang Rohr Naperville River Prairie
42 Terra Costa Howard Lombard River Prairie
43 Anna Moeller Elgin Valley of the Fox
46 Diane Blair-Sherlock Villa Park River Prairie
47 Jackie Williamson Wheaton River Prairie
50 Barbara Hernandez Aurora Valley of the Fox
51 Nabeela Syed Palatine Northwest Cook County / Woods and Wetlands
52 Maria Peterson Barrington Northwest Cook County / Woods and Wetlands
54 Mary Beth Canty Arlington Heights Northwest Cook County
56 Michelle Mussman Elk Grove Village Northwest Cook County
57 Tracy Katz Muhl Northbrook Northwest Cook County / Woods and Wetlands
58 Bob Morgan Lake Forest Woods and Wetlands
59 Daniel Didech Vernon Hills Northwest Cook County /  Woods and Wetlands
60 Rita Mayfield Waukegan Woods and Wetlands
61 Joyce Mason Zion Woods and Wetlands
62 Laura Faver Dias Libertyville Woods and Wetlands
66 Suzanne Ness West Dundee Valley of the FoxNorthwest River Valleys
67 Maurice West Rockford Northwest River Valleys
78 Camille Lilly Oak Park Chicago
81 Anne Stava-Murray Naperville River Prairie
85 Dagmara Avelar Romeoville River Prairie / Sauk-Calumet
103 Carol Ammons Urbana Prairie
112 Katie Stuart Collinsville Piasa Palisades
114 LaToya Greenwood East St. Louis Kaskaskia

Cook County

Bring Chicago Home
Vote Yes

Cook County State's Attorney
Clayton Harris III

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago Commissioner
Precious Brady-Davis (2-year term)

Marcelino Garcia (6-year term)
Dan Pogorzelski (6-year term)
Kari Steele (6-year term)


Lake County

Lake County Board
District 8 - Diane Hewitt

Sierra Club’s contacts with Illinois voters on behalf of endorsed candidates are funded by Sierra Club Illinois PAC. Copies of our reports are available from the State Board of Elections in Springfield, Illinois. For any questions on our endorsement contact Caroline Wooten.