Plant-based Planet Table

April Recipes

Spring has arrived, and April is the month when plants come out as young green shoots, including healthy, delicious greens.  Enjoy these recipes using fresh spring greens!

Roasted Baby Leeks with Thyme:
https://stearnsfarmcsa.org/2010/08/06/roasted-baby-leeks-with-thyme/

Spring Orzo Salad with Peas and Lemon Vinaigrette:
https://frommybowl.com/spring-orzo-salad-peas/

Vegan Fried Rice with Spring Vegetables:
https://www.lazycatkitchen.com/vegan-fried-rice-spring-vegetables/
 

March Recipes

March 17th is St. Patrick’s Day, a day to celebrate Irish culture.  Make the day memorable with these plant-based recipes.

Corned Chickpea “Beef”
https://foodrevolution.org/recipes/corned-chickpea-beef/

Potato Scones
https://veganonboard.com/potato-scones/
Although these potato scones originated in Scotland, they’re also eaten in Ireland.

Super St. Patrick’s Green Drink
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1tL_PMopr0H0latyy3VkculBNNSSApKEJZiEsklxvQ-g/edit?usp=sharing

February Recipes

February 14th is Valentine’s Day, a day to celebrate love.  Whether or not you have a sweetheart, feel free to enjoy these recipes for plant-based sweets, plus one savory recipe.

Dessert Recipes:
Mini Baked Cheesecakes:  https://www.esteeskitchen.com/blog/mini-baked-cheesecakes

Red Velvet Cupcakes:  https://www.noracooks.com/vegan-red-velvet-cupcakes/

Vanilla Pancakes:  https://www.forksoverknives.com/recipes/vegan-breakfast/vanilla-pancakes-with-strawberry-cherry-ice-cream-and-warm-chocolate-sauce/

Savory Recipe:
Roasted Beetroot Napoleon:  https://ohmyveggies.com/roasted-beetroot-napoleon/

January Recipes

January is generally the coldest month of the year in the Northern Hemisphere, with frigid temperatures leading to snow and ice, and potentially even snowstorms.  In many cultures, hot soup is a proven way of warming up.  Enjoy these recipes representing three different cultures:

Soup Recipes:
Minestrone:  https://minimalistbaker.com/1-pot-vegan-minestrone-gluten-free/

Split Pea Soup:  https://www.karissasvegankitchen.com/vegan-split-pea-soup/

Winter Vegetable Miso Soup:  https://theveganatlas.com/winter-vegetable-miso-soup-with-shiitake-mushrooms/

December Recipes

Traditionally, candles brightened dark winter nights during Hanukkah and Christmas. With the Sierra Club’s advocacy, let’s hope that the electric lights used today will soon be powered by renewable energy.  

Celebrate Hanukkah or Christmas - or both of them - with these plant-based versions of traditional foods. In an interfaith spirit, the sugar cookie recipe can be cut into appropriate shapes for both holidays.

Christmas Recipes:
Stuffed Butternut Squash: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/whole-roasted-butternut-squash-with-christmas-stuffing

Vegan Jamaican Fruit Cake: https://www.fromthecomfortofmybowl.com/vegan-jamaican-fruit-cake/#recipe

Hanukkah Recipes:
Potato or Yam Latkes: https://www.esteeskitchen.com/blog/potato-amp-yam-latkes

Rugelach: https://www.theedgyveg.com/2020/12/02/vegan-rugelach/

Interfaith:
Sugar Cookies: https://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/vegan-sugar-cookies/
 

November Recipes

For Native Americans, Thanksgiving is considered not only cultural appropriation, but an erasure of the real history of land theft and genocide they endured at the hands of European settlers. Since 1970, the Mashpee Wampanoags have held a National Day of Mourning in Plymouth to commemorate this tragedy: http://www.uaine.org/

The Wampanoags customarily provide food to attendees of the National Day of Mourning.  If you’re planning to hold a conventional dinner with family and friends, please reflect on the true history of the Native American experience since 1492. Here are three plant-based dishes that are appropriate for either a typical Thanksgiving dinner, or a National Day of Mourning commemoration.

Thanksgiving/National Day of Mourning Recipes:
Foolproof Vegan Applesauce Spice Cake: https://www.thefullhelping.com/vegan-applesauce-spice-cake/

Gluten-free Holiday Roast: https://www.veganricha.com/glutenfree-holiday-roast-vegan/#recipe

Sweet Potato Casserole: https://www.loveandlemons.com/sweet-potato-casserole/
 

October Recipes

Indigenous to the Americas, squash was first cultivated 8,000 years ago in Mexico.  In New England, Native Americans grew pumpkins, Boston Marrows, and turbans before European colonization.  The word “squash” comes from the Narragansett word “askutasquash”, which means “eaten raw or cooked”.  Celebrate the height of Fall with these winter squash recipes!

Squash Recipes:
Curried Red Lentil and Butternut Squash Soup: https://www.thefullhelping.com/curried-red-lentil-and-butternut-squash-soup-with-kale-and-toasted-chickpeas/

Sumac Acorn Squash Soup: https://naturallyella.com/sumac-acorn-squash-soup/

Vegan Butternut Squash Risotto: https://www.thefullhelping.com/vegan-butternut-squash-risotto/

Vegan Pumpkin Pie: https://www.noracooks.com/vegan-pumpkin-pie/

September Recipes

Although it ushers in Fall, September is a time of new beginnings.  Kids return to school for another year of learning.  Jews celebrate the High Holy Days, welcoming the new year 5784 from September 15th-17th.  Send your kids back to school with these nourishing plant-based lunches.  For your Rosh Hashanah celebration, treat your guests to some delicious plant-based food!

Back-to-School Lunches:
Lentil Quinoa Salad: https://www.glueandglitter.com/lentil-quinoa-salad

Rainbow Veggie Sandwiches: https://frommybowl.com/rainbow-veggie-sandwiches/

Rosh Hashanah Recipes:
Farro with Roasted Sweet Potato, Kale, and Pomegranate Seeds: https://food52.com/recipes/19937-farro-with-roasted-sweet-potato-kale-and-pomegranate-seeds

Vegan Apple Cake: https://zardyplants.com/recipes/vegan-baking/vegan-apple-cake/#Skip  

August Recipes - Summer Fruit

Due to climate change, we’re having a very hot summer.  Try cooling off with one of these treats, featuring fresh summer fruit!

Easy Blueberry Chia Pudding:
https://cookathomemom.com/blueberry-chia-pudding/

Homemade Strawberry Almond Milk:
https://www.101cookbooks.com/homemade-strawberry-almond-milk/#recipe

Strawberry Banana Sorbet:
https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/254215/one-ingredient-sorbet/

July Recipes

Summer is in full swing!  Gardens and farmers’ markets are overflowing with fresh vegetables.  Enjoy the Summer Harvest with these recipes for all those bountiful vegetables.

Chickpea Shawarma Salad:
https://runningonrealfood.com/chickpea-shawarma-salad/

Healthy Grilled Veggie Kabobs:
https://eatplant-based.com/vegan-grill-recipes/

Rosemary Tomato Galette with Vegan Pine Nut Ricotta:
http://heartyhealthykitchen.weebly.com/just-eat-it/rosemary-tomato-galette-with-pine-nut-ricotta

June Recipes

On June 19, 1865, Union Army soldiers informed the enslaved people of Galveston, Texas that they were free, two-and-a-half years after the Emancipation Proclamation had been written. Known as Juneteenth, this holiday commemorates the liberation of the last African-Americans to become free. Mark this special holiday with these plant-based versions of traditional African-American dishes.

Baked Vegan Ribs:
https://www.afrovegansociety.org/post/baked-vegan-ribs

Collard Greens with Fire-Roasted Tomatoes:
https://www.icanyoucanvegan.com/collard-greens-with-fire-roasted-tomatoes/

Vegan Peach Cobbler:
https://veganwhat.org/vegan-peach-cobbler/

May Recipes

May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, recognizing the cultural contributions in this country of people from throughout Asia and the Pacific Islands. Celebrate with these plant-based dishes representing the cuisines of Singapore, Hawaii, and India. Enjoy!

Chickpea and Spinach Curry (India)
https://mygoodnesskitchen.com/walk-away-chickpea-tomato-and-spinach-curry-vegan/#recipe

Skinny Hawaiian Slaw
https://theskinnyfork.com/blog/skinny-hawaiian-slaw

Vegan Singapore Noodles
https://loveandgoodstuff.com/vegan-singapore-noodles/#recipe
 

April Recipes

Welcome to the April edition of the Plant-based Planet Table! Spring is in the air, and so are two major holidays. Celebrate Easter and Passover while minimizing your environmental impact with these delicious plant-based recipes. Happy Holidays!

Easter
Mushroom and Asparagus Risotto: https://cleangreensimple.com/recipe/mushroom-asparagus-risotto/#wprm-recipe-container-2763

Asparagus, Green Garlic and Pea Tendrils:  
https://cleangreensimple.com/recipe/asparagus-green-garlic-pea-tendrils/

Fudgy Chocolate Banana Bread: 
https://monkeyandmekitchenadventures.com/fudgy-chocolate-banana-bread/

Chocolate Tahini Easter Eggs:  
https://www.veganfoodandliving.com/vegan-recipes/mildreds-chocolate-easter-eggs/


Passover
Vegan Matzo Ball Soup:
https://www.connoisseurusveg.com/vegan-matzo-ball-soup/

Vegan Potato Kugel:
https://zardyplants.com/recipes/vegan-potato-kugel/

Charoset Bites: 
https://mayihavethatrecipe.com/not-just-for-passover-recipes-sephardic-style-haroset-bites/
 

March Recipes

Welcome to our table!  In this new monthly feature, we will share plant-based recipes to help you minimize your carbon footprint - while eating healthy, delicious food. This month, we’re posting three traditional Irish recipes, so you can celebrate St. Patrick’s Day in Earth-friendly fashion. Enjoy!

Traditional Vegan Colcannon:
https://strengthandsunshine.com/traditional-vegan-irish-colcannon-gluten-free-allergy-free/

Hearty Purple Cabbage Soup:
https://www.forksoverknives.com/recipes/vegan-soups-stews/hearty-purple-cabbage-soup/

Vegan Lentil and Mushroom Shepherd’s Pie:
https://www.mywholefoodkitchen.com/recipe/vegan-lentil-and-mushroom-shepherds-pie/