Endorsed Candidates and Proposals (2018)

endorsement seal

Voter rights and other voter information

 indicates winning Proposals and candidates.
Unofficial vote counts and percentages from MI SoS

   Ballot proposals
Proposal 2 Vote YES to end gerrymandering in Michigan.
Partisan redistricting, also known as gerrymandering, occurs when politicians draw voting map lines unfairly to benefit themselves or their political party. Under this proposal:
  • Political districts would be drawn by a citizen's commission instead of politicians
  • Redistricting would be open to the public rather than done secretly
  • Federal laws would be followed regarding minority representation
  • Federal laws would be followed regarding equal population representation
  • Politicians would be more accountable to citizens
Proposal 3 Vote YES  to create fair rules that remove barriers to voting and make voting more secure.
This proposal would:
  • Protect the right to vote a secret ballot
  • Ensure military service members and overseas voters get their ballots in time for their votes to count
  • Provide voters with the option to vote straight party
  • Automatically register citizens to vote at the Secretary of State’s office unless the citizen declines
  • Allow a citizen to register to vote anytime with proof of residency
  • Provide all registered voters access to an absentee ballot for any reason
  • Ensure the accuracy and integrity of elections by auditing election results.

Help Elect Officials Who Will Protect The Environment

Learn More About Sierra Club’s Endorsed Candidate for Governor Gretchen Whitmer: SierraClubEndorsed.org

Click on name for candidate website.

Gretchen Whitmer  
MI Attorney General
Dana Nessel Nessel
MI Secretary of State
Jocelyn Benson Benson
 US Senator
Debbie Stabenow Stabenow
 US Representatives (Congress)
Matt Morgan (D-1)

Rob Davidson (D-2) Rob Davidson
Dan Kildee (D-5) Killed
Matt Longjohn (D-6)
Gretchen Driskell (D-7)
Elissa Slotkin (D-8)
Andy Levin (D-9)
Haley Stevens (D-11)  
Debbie Dingell (D-12) Debbie Dingell
Rashida Tlaib (D-13)
Brenda Lawrence (D-14) Brenda Lawrence
MI State Senators
Stephanie Chang (D-1) Stephanie Chang
Adam Hollier (D-2)
Sylvia Santana (D-3)
Erika Geiss (D-6)
Danya Polehanki (D-7)
Paul Wojno (D-9)
Henry Yanez (D-10)
Jeremy Moss (D-11)
Rosemary Bayer (D-12)
Mallory McMorrow (D-13) Mallory McMorrow
Renee Watson (D-14)
Julia Pulver (D-15)
Jeff Irwin (D-18)
Jason Noble (D-19) Noble
Sean McCann (D-20) McCann
Ian Haight (D-21)
Adam Dreher (D-22)  
Curtis Hertel Jr.  (D-23) Hertel
Garnet Lewis (D-26)  
Jim Ananich (D-27) Ananich
Winnie Brinks  (D-29) Brinks
Cynthia Luczak (D-31)
Phil Phelps (D-32)
Poppy Sias-Hernandez (D-34)
Mike Taillard (D-35)
Jim Page  (D-37) Page
MI State Representatives
Tenisha Yancey (D-1)
Joseph Tate (D-2)
Isaac Robinson (D-4)
Tyrone Carter (D-6)
Latanya Garrett (D-7) Garrett
Sherry Gay-Dagnogo (D-8) Gay-Dagnogo
Jewell Jones (D-11)  
Alex Garza (D-12)
Cara Clemente (D-14)
Abdullah Hammoud (D-15)
Michelle Lavoy (D-17)
Kevin Hertel (D-18) Hertel
Laurie Pohutsky (D-19)
Matt Koleszar (D-20)  
Kristy Pagan (D-21) Kristy Pagan
John Chirkun  (D-22)
Darrin Camilleri (D-23)
Nate Shannon (D-25)  
Jim Ellison (D-26) Ellison
Robert Wittenberg (D-27)
Lori Stone (D-28)
William Sowerby (D-31) Sowerby
Paul Manley (D-32)
MI State Representatives (cont.)
Sheldon Neeley (D-34) Neeley
Christine Greig (D-37) Christine Greig
Kelly Breen (D-38)  
Mari Manoogian (D-40)  
Padma Kuppa (D-41)
Mona Shand (D-42) Stand
Laura Dodd (D-44)
Colleen Turk (D-47)
Sheryl Kennedy (D-48) KennedyS.png
John Cherry (D-49) Cherry
Tim Sneller (D-50) Sneller
David Lossing (D-51) Lossing
Donna Lasinski (D-52)
Yousef Rabhi (D-53)
Rebekah Warren (D-55)
Ernie Whiteside (D-56)
Amber Pedersen (D-57)
Jon Hoadley (D-60) Jon Hoadley
Alberta Griffin (D-61)
Jim Haadsma (D-62)
Sheila Troxel D-64
Terri McKinnon (D-65) 
Kara Hope (D-67)
Julie Brixie D-69
Angela Witwer D-71
David LaGrand (D-75)
Rachel Hood (D-76) Hood
Joey Andrews (D-79)
Eric Sabin (D-85)
Tanya Cabala (D-91)
Terry Sabo (D-92)
Vanessa Guerra (D-95) Vanessa Guerra
Kristen Brown D-99
Scott VanSingel (R-100)  
Dan O’Neil (D-104)
Joanne Galloway (D-107)
Sara Cambensy D-109
Ken Summers D-110
 Kalamazoo Co. Commissioners
Julie Rogers (D-5)
Meredith Place (D-11)
 Macomb Co. Commissioners
Carole Chi (D-4)
 Oakland Co. Commissioners
Michelle A Bryant (D-1) Bryant
Danielle McLuskey (D-2)
Karen Adams (D-7)  
Gwen Markham  (D-9)
Cheryl Horrigan-Happy (D-12)
Marcia Gershenson (D-13) Gershenson
William Miller (D-14)
Penny Luebs (D-16)
Helaine Zack (D-18) Zack
Dave Woodward (D-19) Woodward
Gary Mcgillivray (D-20)
Washtenaw Co. Commissioners
Susan Shink (D-2)
Wayne Co. Commissioners
Tim Killeen (D-1) Tim Killeen
Jewel Ware (D-2)
Martha Scott (D-3) Scott
Ilona Varga (D-4) Varga
Monique Baker McCormick (D-6)
Glenn Anderson (D-12) Anderson
Ray Basham (D-14) Basham
Ann Arbor City Council
Jeff Hayner (Ward 1)
Kathy Griswold (Ward 2)
Elizabeth Nelson (Ward 4)

Information about all positions including those where the Sierra Club does not make endorsements

from LWV: Enter your address to find your polling place, see your ballot, compare candidates' positions side-by-side and print out a "ballot" to take with you to your polling place. Also resources for military and overseas voters.

Elected officials

  • Find your Representatives:       MI         US
  • Find your Senators:                   MI         US
  • District Maps


Paid for with regulated funds by Michigan Sierra PAC, 109 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906.
Paid for with regulated funds by Sierra Club Supporting Voters Not Politicians, 109 E. Grand River Avenue, Lansing, MI 48906.
Paid for with regulated funds by Sierra Club Supporting Promote the Vote, 109 E. Grand River Avenue, Lansing, MI 48906.