Chapter Awards

Sierra Club Awards Congresswoman Debbie Dingell as Environmentalist of the Year 2022

Send us your award photos to share online!

Check out the slides we shared during the event showcasing our award winners!

Sierra Club Award Ceremony by Sierra Club MI

Michigan Chapter Awards and Descriptions

(note: not all awards are given each year):

Jane Elder Environmentalist of the Year Award
In recognition of exceptional leadership in environmental protection in Michigan.  This is the highest award presented by the Michigan Chapter.

Chairman's Award
Presented by the Chapter Chair to honor a Michigan Chapter leader for exceptional work in support of Sierra Club's work in Michigan.

Ed Steinman Digital Excellence Award (formerly Cyberpunk Award)
This award is given to recognize outstanding efforts by an volunteer activist to raise awareness and disseminate information about Michigan's environment by the use of electronic media.

Centennial Award
To recognize a dedicated long-time Sierra Club member. Issued only once in celebration of the Sierra Club's 100th Anniversary.

Bunyan Bryant Award
Awarded to recognize outstanding leadership in the field of environmental justice.

Burton V. Barnes Award
Established in 2004 to recognize academic excellence.

Trillium Award (formerly Cougar Award)
Established in 1993 to recognize outstanding efforts by or with students.

Environmental Journalism Award
For environmental reporting or editorials. As of 2000, we have both a broadcast award and a print journalism award.

Life of the Party Award
This award is given to gratefully acknowledge those volunteers who take seriously the Sierra Club's credo to enjoy the wild places of the Earth.

Marlene Fluharty Award
This award is given to a Chapter member who has served the Sierra Club on at least two levels (Group, Chapter &/or National) over an extended period of time and has made significant contributions or is responsible for a major project which has significantly benefited the Club.

Service Award
This is given to Chapter and Group volunteers and/or leaders who have contributed a significant amount of time and effort to the Club. No Service Awards will be given to active Chapter Executive Committee members except for a specific achievement or contribution.

Sylvania Award
Established in 1990, this award recognizes a Sierra Club volunteer who is new on the scene but who has already demonstrated great enthusiasm, hard work and dedication.

Vince Smith Award
Established in 1992, this award recognizes outstanding contributions to the Chapter outings program.

Virginia Prentice Award
This award is given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the preservation of wilderness and/or the protection of public lands in Michigan. This award is open to both members and non-members.

White Pine Award
Given to a non-member, organization or group that has shown extraordinary dedication to protection of the environment.


2020 Awardees

2019 Awardees

2018 Awardees

2017 Awardees

2016 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 14)

2015 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 14)

2014 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 14)

2013 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 22)

2012 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 22)

2011 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 14)

2010 Awardees (The Mackinac, pp. 17,22)

2009 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 3)

2008 Awardees

2007 Awardees

2006 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 13)

2005 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 16)

2004 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 16)

2003 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 15)

2002 Awardees

2001 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 11)

2000 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 15)

1999 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 10)

1998 Awardees

1997 Awardees (The Mackinac, p. 14)

1987 - 2016 Awardees