Award winners

Congratulations to Omahan Faye Sitzman for being recognized by the Sierra Club Board of Directors for her lifetime contributions to leading outings.
Faye Sitzman


2023 Chapter Award Winners: Mia Perales and Al Davis

2023 awardees


2022 Award Winners

Brittany Cooper

For her outstanding service to the Chapter as Chapter Chair and Secretary

Community Environmental Leadership Award

Awarded to

Ryan Wishart
For his research into OPPD and his advocacy for active transportation


Environmental Champion Award

Awarded to

John Pollack
For his decades of environmental advocacy


Outstanding Environmental Journalist Award

Awarded to

Kevin Abourezk
For promoting conservation in the Native American Community and beyond


2021 Award Winners


2020 Award Winner


2019 Award Winners

2017 Award winners

Upper right: David Domina (left) with Nebraska Sierra Club Counsel James Cavanaugh: middle left: (left to right) Senator Krist, Senator Chambers and James Cavanaugh; middle right: David Corbin with Candy Bless Heydorn; lower left: Clyde Anderson (left) with Scott Kemper; lower right: Michael Forsberg (left) with Tyler Mainquist. 

2016 Award winners

Award winners (presented by NSC chair, Candy Bless) at the Nebraska Sierra Club Harvest Moon Banquet, Oct. 16, 2016: Clockwise from upper left: Senator Ken Haar, Eric Williams (also accepting an award on behalf of his brother Scott Williams), national Sierra Club President Aaron Mair and Bill Moore. Congratulations to all the winners

Click here to see past winners of Nebraska Sierra Club awards from 1984-2015.