The Virginia Murray Brewer Award

Virginia Murray Brewer Award (formerly known as the Outings Award) is given to a Sierra Club member or members who have contributed to the Chapter and/or a Regional Group via the Outings Program. The award commemorates Virginia Murray Brewer, who along with her husband, Byron, was an active member and founder of the Central Texas Regional Group of the Sierra Club. Virginia was active in leading and promoting group outings that drew many members into the Central Texas Regional Group.

Past recipients

Mark Stein (2019)

Anne Pearson (2018)

Bill Greer (2015)

Liz Wheelan (2014)

NIles Seldon (2014)

Arthur Kuehne (2013)

James Moody (Fort Worth) 2012

Gerald Langham (Golden Triangle) 2010

Phillip Russell (Austin) 2009

Marilyn Turnage (Fort Worth) 2007

Terry Sullivan (Dallas) 2005

Becky Patterson (Austin)

Angie Langolf (Houston)

George Batten (Houston)

Claudia Blalock (Fort Worth)

Mary Lou Aylesworth (Houston)

Rita Davis (Austin)

John Parker (Fort Worth)

Frank Blake (Houston)

John Compher (Central Texas) (first recipient of Virginia Murray Brewer Award)

Elizabeth Gibson

John Yarber (Austin)

Robert Stewart (Red River)

Marge Dutch (Houston)

Lou Celusniak (Houston)

Diana Christopulos (Dallas)

Dallas Group Outings Committee

Bill Tetley (Golden Triangle)

Joe Murphy (Golden Triangle)

Ron Benskin (Austin)

Mark McClain (Dallas)

Dale Edelbaum (Dallas)

Byron Brewer (Austin)

Don Purinton (Dallas)

Paul Conn (Houston)