The Evelyn R. Edens Award

Evelyn R. Edens Award - Commemorates the work of this Fort Worth area environmentalist who passed away in February 1993. She worked in cooperation with others to create Save the Brazos and the annual Texas Meeting on the Outdoors and served on the executive committee of the Lone Star Chapter. The award, to be conferred only when merited, will honor river conservation efforts of individuals and groups.

Past recipients

Frank Smith (2021)

Janice Bezanson (2015)

Friends of the Brazos River (2012)

Jim Blackburn & Mary Carter (2012)

Adrian van Dellen (Woodville) (2011)

Cibolo Conservation Corridor Initiative; Cibolo Nature Center (2010)

Friends of the Neches River (2009)

Lee Smith (2008)

Joseph Fitzsimons (2006)

Andrew Sansom (2005)

Richard Donovan (Lufkin) (2004)

San Marcos River Foundation (2003)

Save the Paluxy Dinosaur Valley (2002)

Texas River Protection Association (2001)

Tom Goynes (2000)

Evelyn Merz (Houston) (1999)

Tom Douglas (Houston) (1998)

East TX Communities Network (1997)

Ruth Culver (1996)

Julia Burgen (Arlington) (1995)

Diana Christopulos (Dallas) (1994)

Tom Cloud (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service) (1993)