Kanza Group

 bench overlooking autumn trees

Photo by Johnson County, Kansas Parks & Recreation Department, Mill Creek Streamways Park in Shawnee

This Group covers the entire eastern edge of Kansas from the Nebraska state line to the Oklahoma border. Most members live in Johnson and Wyandotte Counties, including the major cities of KC, KS, Leavenworth, and Overland Park. Issues include those associated with city-living and environmental justice. Johnson County Community College has a nationally recognized program on sustainability. This highly urbanized area, situated on the edge of the relatively wet eastern deciduous forest ecosystem, is part of the ancestral lands of the Osage Nation.

Find our meetings and events on the chapter calendar.

Kanza Group Leaders

Group Officers (elected by the group executive committee)

KANZA Group Chair

smiling ray haired woman with glasses
Mimi Moffat she/her

Contact Mimi

Vice-Chair: Tim McCoy

Secretary: Fred Hopkins 
Assistant Secretary: Elaine Giessel

Treasurer: Elliot Skinner
Assistant Treasurer: Mimi Moffat

Executive Committee (elected by group members)
Alan Bauman (Prairie Village) (2023-2023)
Harold Draper (Kansas City, MO) (2021-2022)
Elaine Giessel (Overland Park) (2021-2022)
Fred Hopkins (Prairie Village) (2021-2022)
Craig Lubow (Kansas City, KS) (2022-2023)
Tim McCoy (Overland Park) (2021-2022)
Mimi Moffat (Leawood) (2022-2023)
John Neuberger (Overland Park) (2022-2023)
Elliot Skinner (Olathe) (2021-2022)

Each year the group executive committee elects one of their members to serve as a voting member of the chapter executive committee.

Chapter DelegateTim McCoy

Chapter Delegate Alternate: John Neuberger

Kanza Group Nominations Committee
Chair: John Neuberger - Contact John
Kanza ExCom member Mimi Moffat, non-ExCom member Janet Lhuillier

 Outings Chair: Matt Verhulst

KS Matt Verhulst with Military Outings Banner
Contact Matt 

KANZA Political Chair

Head shot of man in blue shirt and gray jacket
Alan Bauman
Contact Alan