Local Groups

The Maryland Chapter of the Sierra Club is responsible for chartering local Groups that serve smaller geographic areas in the state. Each Group adopts By-laws and elects an Executive Committee from the Sierra Club members that live within the Group's boundaries. The Groups carry out the mission of the national Sierra Club and the Maryland Chapter at the local level: the Groups promote conservation and may initiate conservation campaigns, they organize outings, they educate and engage members, they participate in endorsing political candidates, and they hold regular meetings. In addition, each Group in good standing appoints a Delegate to serve as a member of the Chapter Executive Committee and represent the interests of the Group there. The Chairs of each Group are given below.

The national Sierra Club also sponsors organizations, called Activity Sections, that have more limited missions than those of Chapters and Groups. Baltimore Inspiring Connections Outdoors (formerly Baltimore Inner City Outings) provides under-served Baltimore City youth with educational, enjoyable, and safe outdoor experiences. The contact information for this Activity Section is given below.


Group Webpages

Contact the Maryland  Sierra Club Groups on social media


Group Chairs

Bernie Robinson, Anne Arundel Group
a.bernard.robinson@gmail.com

Paul Walker, Catoctin Group (Carroll & Frederick Counties)
pwsccg@yahoo.com

Deborah Kleinmann ("Spice"), Greater Baltimore Group (Baltimore City & County, Harford County)    
spicearoni@gmail.com

Carolyn Parsa, Howard Group 
Carolyn.Parsa@mdsierra.org

Cindy Dillon, Lower Eastern Shore Group
cindy.dillon@mdsierra.org

Darian Unger, Montgomery Group
dwunger@howard.edu

Janet Gingold, Prince George’s Group
janet.gingold@mdsierra.org

Ben Hance, Southern MD Group (Charles, Calvert, & St. Mary’s Counties)
benjamin.t.hance@gmail.com

Michael Brandt, Washington County Group
michael.brandt@mdsierra.org


Activity Sections

Baltimore Inspiring Connections Outdoors (BICO)

Nicole Veltre-Luton and Brad Hunter, BICO Co-Chairs
410-357-6242, baltimoreico[@]gmail.com 
 

For chapter level leaders, please check our Contacts page.