This page contains a ist of the categories of Major Sierra Club Awards received by SPS Members. - (First version prepared by Duane McRuer in 2005) - Click on the award name to see list of SPS members who have received award.

National Awards to SPS Members

Francis Farquhar Mountaineering Award - "Honors an individual's contribution to mountaineering and enhancement of the Club's prestige in this field"
      Honorary SPS Members
     Regular SPS Members

Oliver Kehrlein Award - "Honors an individual who has done outstanding work in the Sierra Club's or a Chapter's Outing program." (Established in 1969) Oliver Kehrlein was one of the first SPS emblem holders (1956).

John Muir Award - The Sierra Club's top award.

Angeles Chapter Major Awards to SPS Members

Chester Versteeg Outings Award - "For long-term and outstanding leadership in furthering the enjoyment and safety of the outings program." (Established in 1976 as the Chapter's premier award for outings; given the Versteeg name in 1987).

Phil Bernays Service Award - "For long-term and outstanding service to the Angeles Chapter in fields other than conservation and outings." (Established in 1968)

Lifelong Service Award - "Given to a senior member who has provided consistent long-term service to the Angeles Chapter." (Established in 1996)

Media Award

Elna Bakker Nature Interpretation Award

Sierra Peaks Section Awards

Sierra Peaks Section Leadership Award - "Created by the SPS Membership to give recognition to those individuals who have shown outstanding leadership and service to the SPS over the years and who have fostered new leaders." (Established 1997)

Sierra Peaks Section Lifetime Achievement Award